• Shop Amazon

The crazy cross-stitcher

These past few weeks haven’t been terribly exciting around the house. I’ve been spending most nights after work tirelessly working on the cross-stitch project I am doing for my brother Dan’s wedding. It looked this way in March and hadn’t progressed too much because I’d been busy with classes:

015

I’ll have to take another picture tomorrow to show you the progress. It’s coming along. Hurry hurry – don’t have too much time yet to finish it! 🙂

One of the things I’ve noticed is that since we got the backyard garden set up – I’ve actually been in the far back of the yard daily to water and check on things. Because of that, I’m able to enjoy the beautiful flowers around the shed:

038

This little pink fellow is the smallest plant. There’s just one little shoot sticking up from the ground but I’m hoping if I ease up the rocks around him and add a little dirt that he’ll have room to flourish – the pink is so gorgeous. Plus, he’s at the very BACK side of the shed (facing the row of hedge trees) so no one ever sees him!

And my tiny irises… for so many plants, they aren’t growing tall either. They also are not budding much. I think of all 4 giant clusters there have been fewer than 5 flowers.

036

Gorgeous too!

I’m always on the lookout for exciting new landscaping ideas and came across this on a friend’s facebook page. I love how colorful it is but I think if I were to do it I’d spray all the tires the same exact color. That way they wouldn’t take away from all the pretty flowers. Plus – it’s an interesting way to re-use old tires.

tire art

Tonight Ben and I are taking my folks out for an early Anniversary dinner. They’ll be celebrating 34 years this month! I’ve been talking to one of my friends who started on a diet a couple months ago and am looking at jumping on the bandwagon with him (misery loves company). So in order to be diligent and devoted to the new diet, I’m getting these celebratory dinners out of the way this week. I have a year to shed some pounds and tone some arms before my wedding, but I know it will be here sooner than I think. Might as well get started now!

I’m excited to start the day! Make it a great one!!

 

2 Responses

  1. Aweee how exciting for your parents! My parents were married in 1980, so they’re right behind them! Are you doing a particular diet? I am with you on needing to tone up for next year!

Leave a Reply

