• Shop Amazon

Recipe: Honey Garlic Chicken Stir-fry

002

I can hardly believe I haven’t posted our new staple stir-fry recipe yet. As you know, any recipe that can pack in a bunch of veggies and still get both Ben and me to eat it is a winner. This stir-fry gets a depth of flavor with natural honey and I use organic low-sodium Tamari to cut back on sodium.

Winner, winner: stir-fry for dinner!

Honey Garlic Chicken Stir-fry

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound chicken breasts, cut into pieces
  • 1T coconut oil (any oil will do!)
  • 2-3 garlic cloves, minced

Melt your coconut oil in a large fry pan. Add the chicken and garlic and cook until your chicken is no longer pink. Remove from pan and set aside

002

Whip out the cutting board and get chopping! We add tons of different veggies:

  • peppers (I love the red, orange, and yellows for color variety)
  • snap peas
  • carrots
  • celery
  • broccoli
  • green onion

I don’t measure anything in terms of veggies. The sauce makes a generous amount and the veggies will cook down a bit. My only caveat is that I slice the carrots very thin so they aren’t quite so crunchy. A little crunch is a nice contrast though!

001

Once you have your veggies washed and chopped, add them to your pan, cover and cook over medium heat

003

As your veggies cook, add your sauce ingredients to your veggies:

  • 1/4c low-sodium Tamari (soy sauce works)
  • 1/4c + 1T honey
  • 1/8t pepper

You want slightly thick sauce with a nice sheen, so make a slurry of cornstarch and water.

  • 2t cornstarch
  • 1T cold water (if it’s hot, the cornstarch won’t dissolve properly)

Once the cornstarch has been fully dissolved in the water, toss into your stir-fry and simmer until it begins to thicken up. Add back in your chicken, heat through, and you’re ready to serve!

004

We typically serve this over rice but once I used orzo pasta and that was really good too.

008

This makes a ton. The more veggies you add, the more leftovers. 🙂 I like this because I can make it all one day and have leftovers for another meal or two later in the week. Usually Ben will do the meat chopping and browning while I cut the veggies, then he makes the sauce while I work on the cornstarch … and we’re done in no time!

011

Bon appetit!

8 Responses

  1. I love stir frys. A dish that can be healthy and so, SO tasty. Great recipe! 🙂

  2. Do you deliver? 🙂

  3. Sounds good! I might even defrost a bag of frozen veggies for even quicker weeknight cooking.

  4. Ohhh that sounds good 🙂

  5. Your stirfry looks delicious. I don’t make it nearly enough and I should.

Leave a Reply

