• Shop Amazon

Can we have the weekend for 10 months?

Holy moly cow – it was such an incredibly beautiful weekend! I can hardly believe it. The weather was in the high 60s with Sunday just eeking over 70 degrees. Sunshine, slight breeze – my definition of perfect weather.

I started out the weekend by swapping my old blue-violet toes for springtime peach. Friday afternoons are the best time to get a pedicure because the place isn’t crazy-busy the way it is on Saturdays. Plus I think lots of people wanted sandle-ready toes. There was a girl there getting her nails done before her wedding. What a fantastic day for a wedding. I almost couldn’t believe her luck!

007Β 041

I had Ben meet me for a work happy-hour. One of our long-time contractors had his contract finish and since he’s almost like work family now, we wanted to send him off with a little fanfare.

The gang being silly:

023

The boys were engrossed in the draft details. I finally asked them to stop staring at the TVs and join in on the conversations…

024

Bwahaha πŸ™‚ We all went back to one couples’ house hung out a bit before heading home way too late. I get up at 5:30am so my body does not like to be up past 10pm. I’m old. πŸ˜‰

We slept in a bit on Saturday and Ben made me a breakfast of champions: scrambled eggs with cheese, orange juice, and coffee. Nom nom

031

Ben spent most of the day getting all the lawn equipment ready for the season. We put mulching blades on the rider and Ben spent a lot of time tuning up and repairing his small self-propelled mower. The front wheel is in sad shape but we’re hoping it can get through this summer and we can pick up a deal in the Fall.032

One of our friends turned 30 on Saturday and we were invited to a party and campfire that night. I knew they’d have a TON of goodies so we decided it was safer to eat on our own first. We went down to bar a few miles from our house and grabbed some eats. A cheeseburger for me and a pizza for Ben.

044

043

The service is always terrible so we rarely come here – but it’s within walking/biking distance and might be an option for some walk-to-eat excursion this summer.

The party was a riot and there was excessive amounts of food. Fruit and dip, veggies and dip, chips and dip (lots of dip!), two kinds of cake, cookies, lemon bars, crackers, cheese & sausage, meatballs and cocktail weenies. Definitely an impressive spread. I felt weird whipping out my camera with so many people around so I kept it in my purse all night. We finished with cake and wound up in their backyard with a nice campfire. I had a sweatshirt on and was perfectly fine. It felt like summer – just glorious.

We got home late again. It was worth it. πŸ™‚

Sunday was super-productive. Ben bought a shiny new flag to hang up and got started thatching the lawn. We bought a dethatcher and sweeper to help with the huge amounts of dead grass we have. We had only mowed once last year, when the grass was really tall, so more dead brown grass than green grass was visible on the lawn.

034

Can you see the color difference between ourΒ yard and the neighbor next door? Color me envious πŸ™‚

Ben filled up the sweeper basket a whopping 11 times and carted it all down to the village drop-off site. It took several trips. See those woods? That’s where the evil bunnies live…

045

I washed the sheets and hung 3 loads of laundry on the line. Love, love, love!

Then I hitched up the new bike and took her off for a test drive! It’s amazing how I was so used to my old bike that everything feels really different now. Being more upright I can tell it takes a bit more effort to pedal (or maybe it’s just cause it’s the beginning of the season?). I was hoping all my BodyPump classes would leave me ready to tackle heavy miles out of the gate. Not so much. I biked to a friend’s house 3.3 miles away and was pretty winded when I arrived. Another 3.3 miles home and my first ride of the year is in the books. Hurray!

Nothing ends a perfect weekend quite like grilling out. Ben put some steaks on and grilled some chicken so I’d have some for lunches this week.

046

Now we’re in for a week of rain. That’s OK, I’d rather have rain M-F and a beautiful weekend! Plus, I think that rain might help get some buds to bloom. Can’t wait!!

6 Responses

  1. It’s really tough facing Monday when the weekend was so darned fantastic. I absolutely love those toes! Wish I could wear polish, I’d love a little flower on my toe πŸ™‚

  2. Your toes look so cute! I wear socks with my sandals (dorky, I know), so my toes never show, although they are pink right now πŸ˜€

  3. I wish my apartment allowed for grills…but unfortunately it doesn’t 😦 Yummy food this weekend!

  4. Your toes are soooo cute! very photogenic!

  5. My pleasure! Your toes are certainly sandal ready, and you should be proud to show them! The peach works for you πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

