• Shop Amazon

Warming Up

Thank you so much for all the well-wishes on our engagement! While I am absolutely excited, I am also pretty terrified of all the planning – mostly because I have no idea what we want to do yet. *gulp* ๐Ÿ™‚

The temps are finally warming up! If the forecast is correct, we’re in for an amazing weekend. I’m talking high 60s and sunshine. Time to break out the sunscreen, iced tea, and lawn chairs!! I have new-found desire to get my bike before the weekend so I can clock in a few miles when it’s so nice out.

Ben grilled last night and pumped up his basketball to try a few shots while the bratwurst sizzled. He had just made a basket when a truck comes rolling down the street and the driver screams out “YOU SUCK”!! huh?

035

These were chicken and wild rice brats. Not organic but so tasty. They also have msg as the final listed ingredient so these are eaten very rarely. Too bad, you’d think they could make them without since it’s obviously not a main ingredient.

042

As we ate dinner, Ben got a text message from someone he worked with years ago – apparently he was the driver of the truck!ย  Mystery solved and we ended up getting a bit of a chuckle out of it. I had wondered if we had really evil neighbors or something.

I’ve been spraying my tulips constantly in the hopes that it will keep the vermin at bay. So far, so good – but there definitely is some damage that’s taking a while to re-grow.

036

I was pleased with myself that I managed to salvage a few. I’m hopeful the spray will keep the critters away so I can get some blooms. This flower bed definitely needs some mulch too I think!

Of course, when one food source is removed, they will find another. I was walking through the back of the house looking at the lawn and discovered this:

039

All the “sawdust” at the bottom of my flowering shrub is where the bunnies chewed up all the stems. There’s severe damage as well – large sections of the shrub have been sawed off and are dead now.

Same goes for every. single. shrub. behind the house

They chewed off tons of the shoots and left behind tons of crap (literally)

040

 

038

Argh!!

I found some garlic clips that you attach to a shrub and they supposedly keep the rabbits away. I’m ordering those today. Meanwhile I sprayed each shrub with more repellent. How come rabbits can’t at least chew away symmetrically so the plants sort of look ok after? This is total mutilation! If anyone has a free afternoon and a BB gun, please let me know. I will bake you brownies and cookies and cheesecake. ๐Ÿ™‚

Oh, one thing I’m nuts about – the warming weather means we have beautiful sunsets once again! I don’t know why I never see any in the Winter but last night there was a beautiful one. Hurray for Spring!!!

046

Tonight I’m heading back out to check the bikes again. With any luck I’ll come home tonight with a new set of wheels!!

5 Responses

  1. Just stumbled onto your blog–congrats on the engagement! Your ring is gorgeous! I met my current boyfriend on Plenty of Fish, online dating is the way to go ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Welcome! I’m glad you found me. ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s funny because I used to think it was semi frowned upon to do the online dating thing but the more I talk to people the more I realize just how big it has become – and I agree, it was the way to go! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I can’t wait to see what color tulips you have! Mine are finally sending up the bud part. Yay! Did you know that rabbit poo is a fertilizer you can use right away? One of my blog friends told me that. Just leave it there and water it in.

    We have people around here that yell stuff out the car windows all the time. I don’t get it.

  3. Hope the bike stuff goes well…and I am still so unsure what the heck i am doing with this wedding stuff!! haha

Leave a Reply

