• Shop Amazon

Springtime in WI

007

Happy Monday everyone! Does anyone have trouble rolling out of bed on Mondays or is it just me? πŸ™‚

It was a fantastic weekend even with a few more doses of the white powder. Apparently this was winter storm Xerxes – which means there’s a maximum of two storms left and no more. Because we can’t start all over at letter “A” can we?

003

I got home after work on Friday and decided to call Mom and see if she was up for some lunch. It was perfect timing as she was just finishing up some grocery shopping so I swung over to the park and ride, picked her up, and we were off to check out a new-to-me restaurant.

It was a cute little restaurant with a built-in boutique type shop. They had artwork and decorations for sale all over the walls and tables. Mom got the veggie wrap.

002

I went a little outside my norm and got a grilled turkey panini with apples, carmelized onions, and a garlic mayo. Actually, it was really good!

001

I tend to not be that adventurous because I always want to like what I order. So I play it safe.

We got some super-cute lid covers that I’ll need to take a picture of to show you. Oh, and then I found the ultimate impulse buy:

008

I’ve been wanting to get artwork on the walls for a long, long time and haven’t come across anything I really liked. For some reason, I just loved this. It was quiet and tranquil yet spooky and mysterious. I’ll get a picture once we have it on the wall. So excited!

The weekend also brought the return of Ben’s old roommate Jon. Jon moved to Toyko seven years ago but when he comes back to see his family he usually stays with us for a day or two. So on Saturday I dashed out to BodyPump and got home just in time to greet him and whip up a big batch of my blueberry buckwheat pancakes – a hit for Jon too!

The boys had plenty of time to catch up.

015

And we brought out an old box of Jon’s stuff that we found when we were moving Ben out of his house last April. Uncovered a mountain of old Japanese video games:

017

Jon was so excited – I think he’d totally forgotten he even had these anymore. So of course, the boys hooked up the machine and began playing their favorites. πŸ™‚

016

Cookies were requested so I made a batch of whole wheat chocolate chip

018

And the boys went back to their long-ago favorite burger joint. It’s become a tradition whenever Jon is in town:

020

We got some more snow yesterday but luckily it was nothing too substantial.

013

It felt pretty great to enjoy a weekend with no school work looming over my head. We finished up the semester on Thursday after our group presentation. When our teacher pulled us aside to review our paper and grade, I was expecting some final vindication on the rotten grammar and content. Granted, I cleaned up a TON – but I drew the line at the runon sentences, spacing issues, and sentences beginning with the word “And”.

The verdict? Our paper was “nearly perfect”, “brilliant”, and so good he wants to use it as an example for other students. You could have knocked me over with a feather. Nevermind the smug looks from my classmates for the 99% grade we got and the fact that their 3 hours of effort achieved such a fabulous score. I’m dumbfounded. I’d honestly hate to see what a 95% paper looked like! But… it’s all over and there’s no point worrying about it now. Next time I’ll know better and can hopefully get better classmates so I’m not doing it all myself.

Today the temps are supposed to almost hit 60. I can’t believe it! This will help melt a lot of the snow. Nothing major planned for this week – I’m just looking forward to having all my nights free again until September. πŸ™‚

Hope you are all having a wonderful Monday. Make it a great day!

2 Responses

  1. Hopefully your snow is gone and gone for good soon!!! Gross πŸ™‚

  2. Ugh – your weather this weekend! This naming of winter storms is stupid. I don’t think anyone but the Weather Channel actually uses the names. We had a cold weekend and some rain, but thankfully no snow. Now we have a warm up into the 60s as well – and I have to work, wahhh!

Leave a Reply

