• Shop Amazon

Sweet-Smelling Spring

There’s a lot of things I love the smell of: fresh cut grass, popcorn, flowers (any kind, I don’t discriminate!), coffee, fresh sheets hung out on the line… Outdoor smells are particularly precious because they can only be had during certain times of the year and usually mean Winter is no longer around.

As an apartment resident for the past 3 years, this is the first time in a long while that I’ve been able to do anything more than hang a few odd items over a clothes rack on my apartment porch and pray the wind doesn’t send my shirt toppling into the ground.

No more! Yesterday I washed all the sheets and hung them out to dry. It was, in a word: paradise. I hadn’t planned on earmarking the experience through pictures and laughed when I saw a stash on my camera that Ben must have taken. I smiled and waved at hime a few times but was too blind that far away to tell he was snapping away. Ha

016

Please note the high fashion snow boots – the grass is still super sloshy – and the remaining snow in the background.

017

026

Just a courtesy reminder, be sure to wipe the clothesline clean from all the Winter dirt, dust , and grime.

027

Last night I tumbled into sheets smelling like the summers long ago when I was a child. It was beyond wonderful and I wanted to sniff the sheets all night. πŸ™‚ Sometimes, it’s the simple things. Call me crazy; I can take it.

It was a fairly odd weekend weather-wise. We got up on Saturday morning to head to BodyPump and this sight stopped me in my tracks:

012

Seriously? Seriously?? I am so done with snow I don’t want to see it again for a long, long time. I even cringe a little when I look at pictures of us snow-blowing. Nope, it needs to melt fast!

Luckily most melted away on Saturday and the 50 degree Sunday weather took care of the rest. Now all that remains is the huge piles in parking lots and the chunks hidden under large trees.

008

Somehow I realized we still had leftover keylime cheesecake from Matt’s birthday in the fridge. I consider throwing cheesecake out right up there with snow in July and we promptly finished the last pieces.

006

Delicious

007

I spent the vast majority of the weekend working on homework. My 15 page econ paper is almost done and then all that’s left is my marketing final exam and the final group presentation. This is the last week! I’m almost insane with school and this group stuff but I just need to hang in there a teensy bit longer.

Finally, what’s a great thing about 50 degree weather? Ben grills out! I’m looking forward to a long season of grilling and last night it was BBQ chicken! We cooked plenty so there’s leftovers for tonight so I can plow through homework and not need to take the time to make dinner.

035

We’ve got a week of RAIN ahead of us but hopefully all the snow is finished. I’m ready to move on to better things! Like sunshine, morning walks, and vegging outdoors. πŸ™‚

Have a terrific day!

4 Responses

  1. My grandma and my mom always hung sheets and clothes out to dry. I have a drying rack so I hang all of my clothes on the rack (indoors). I love the crisp, clean, fresh smell of sheets that have been hung outside to dry.

  2. We don’t have room for a clothes line without a back yard. I kind of miss that.

    Hope your week goes smoothly for you!

  3. Definitely no throwing away the cheesecake! And I am so jealous that you can hang your stuff outside!!

  4. My mother in law can’t wait for the warmth of spring, for the very reason of hanging out her clothes. Fun. Have a great day Ali.

Leave a Reply

