• Shop Amazon

Who’s the Fool?

bye march

 

Boy – March just sailed right on by didn’t it? I’m not sure why but it felt like a really quick month.

It’s April Fools Day today and every year I always think I’ll come up with something hilarious to do to something – but I never do. As a kid, we would all roll around in hysterics anytime we heard the classic prank of putting the plastic wrap over the toilet seat. Now as an adult, I just cringe thinking about the mess! How times change… 🙂

I had a fantastic weekend filled with plenty of vegging and plenty of family time.

Saturday was my brother Matt’s 28th birthday! Matt and I were always super close growing up. When I graduated from college and got my first job in Green Bay, the two of us joined a couples bowling league. We were terrible but it was so much fun! Matt was also my golfing buddy and my movie-every-Saturday pal (If only I had the time to do that again!). I spent a few weeks helping Mom with his birthday wish list so we could be as incognito as possible.

We spent a good part of the day playing family karaoke. Let me tell you, we are terrible!!

011

But everyone took part and laughs were frequent and plentiful

032

Mom and Dad were in last place after the first 2 rounds and rebounded to first to win the entire thing. No fair! Parents are supposed to let their kids win. 🙂

019

Mom whipped up all kinds of yummy snacks throughout the day – including the new family favorite snack: spiced cashews!

006

These babies are loaded with honey and cayenne – so they satisfy both the sweet and the savory aspect. I need to ask Mom for the recipe to share with you all because these were delicious.

008

Yum!

Matt chose hot chicken salad as his birthday meal:

037

Matt (like me) is a huge strawberry fan so I brought over my ice cream maker and we tried a new recipe for strawberry ice cream – sweetened with honey instead of sugar.

007

Whirling in the mixer:

010

Served alongside strawberry cake

049

The ice cream was good but since it wasn’t as sweet as what you’d typically have in an ice cream, we decided it was best served alone and not alongside another sweet item.

After bellies were full, it was present time!
004

 

039

 

046

 

045

Happy Birthday Matt! I hope it’s a wonderful year for you!!!

042

6 Responses

  1. Looks like a fun time!

  2. Happy birthday to Matt!

  3. Looks like a fun time! Your ice cream turned out great! 🙂

  4. How dare they not let the kids win 😉

Leave a Reply

