• Shop Amazon

All About Stevia (giveaway)

Long time blog readers know that I’m crazy about peaches, the Green Bay Packers, and finding little tricks to help with a healthier diet and lifestyle. A few years ago I was introduced to Stevia and ever since, it’s been a love match. ❤

I remember years ago when Splenda first came out and I used that faithfully until research suggested that suclarose wasn’t a very good substitute for real sugar. In fact, it was downright terrible for me. But Stevia – all my research is positively glowing so the transition was easy.

For those not familiar with Stevia, it’s plant based. Stevia is in the Chrysanthemum family which grows wild as a small shrub in parts of Paraguay and Brazil. The glycosides in its leaves account for its incredible sweetness.

I use Stevia any way that I can (mom does too!) – from our organic pumpkin pies to yesterday’s key lime cheesecake. But I also use it to sweeten plain yogurt, coffee, and tea. Basically anything that needs a bit of sweetness. But the best part? Stevia doesn’t raise your blood sugar the way regular and artifical sweeteners do making it an ideal option for diabetics! 

org pump 5

Knowing my love affair with Stevia, you can imagine my delight when the folks at NuNaturals asked if I’d like to try out some of their new liquid Stevia flavors – including chocolate!

Chocolate_Stevia_Alcohol_Free

The chocolate flavor is absolutely amazing in my coffee! I’ve also mixed in a few drops of the peppermint flavor for a peppermint mocha taste. Delicious!

Now not all Stevia is made the same – some is highly processed (I’m looking at you Truvia) and some brands have a really bitter aftertaste. But NuNaturals has been my go-to brand for years because it’s sweet, delicious, and without the bitterness.

If you’ve never tried Stevia before, here’s a quick walk-thru on some products and ways you can use Stevia:

003

The liquid Stevias are great for putting in coffee, tea, and water. NuNaturals has new flavors like orange and lemon that are perfect in a glass of ice water or a club soda. The peppermint, chocolate, and vanilla Stevia I adore in my coffee and tea (even Ben has converted!).

The unflavored and vanilla Stevia flavors are the most versatile. I use these for baking, adding to whipped cream, and just a few drops are all you need.

006

The packets and tabs are great for traveling. I keep the tabs in my purse so when we’re out for Sunday breakfast I can pop them into our coffee so we always have the right sweetener with us.

004

The packets I bring into work. They store fantastically well and I stir a packet into my yogurt. I also keep a bottle of liquid Stevia at my desk for my coffee.

005

If you’ve never tried Stevia before, today is your lucky day because the NuNaturals folks are letting 4 of my readers try their new liquid Stevia flavors!! Each reader will receive one bottle of each of the Lemon / Orange / Peppermint flavored Stevia liquids, PLUS the NEW Chocolate Stevia!!

You can also purchase Stevia directly from NuNatural’s website and receive a discount on your purchase:  www.nunaturals.com Also be sure to check out NuNaturals on Facebook for up-to-date info on all their exciting new products!

On the checkout page, simply enter code BLG0613  and you will receive a 15% discount on your ENTIRE ORDER. This discount remains effective until JUNE 30, 2013!!

Online ordering customers may also receive FREE SHIPPING to the continental U. S. on all orders exceeding $35 after discounts! NuNaturals does ship worldwide but not to P. O. Boxes.

Dying to know how to win? You have TWO chances!

1) Reply to this post and tell me which NuNaturals Stevia product you’re excited to try the most

2) Link to this giveaway on your own blog and post in the comments when done for a second entry.

I’m so excited to share these amazing products with you and my thanks to Ron at NuNaturals for offering this giveaway!!

(**Disclosure: I was not compensated for this post. I am not a medical expert and my opinions and comments are not meant as medical advice) Giveaway ends Monday, February 25th. Winners will be announced Tuesday the 26th.

Good luck to all!

15 Responses

  1. I’ve never tried Stevia so I’m curious to try them all!

  2. The chocolate flavor and peppermint flavor combined sound like an awesome coffee addition 🙂 or homemade ice cream addition…

  3. I have never tried Stevia, but I’ve heard a lot about it. I would love to try it!

  4. New reader here and fellow Packer fan! Still sad about the season end, but hey! Stevia!!

    I’m a huge fan and use it so much like you do – I keep the drops and packets at work for tea/coffee, and use them in baking too. I’ve even made my own flavored drops in so many different flavors!

    I really want to try the tabs – that’s a great idea to use on the go. I have been settling for stevia packets or equal, which are just….gross.

  5. I have tried the SweetLeaf Lemon Stevia… I only tried it once… and made the mistake of tasting it right from the bottle (it was so ridiculously strong and left my tongue with a gross flavor). My cousin told me to take a drop and spread it out on the back of my hand and then try it. I was skeptical, but did (with her hazelnut) and it tasted delicious.
    Case in point – do not stick the dropper directly in your mouth to taste test! Ugh!

    I haven’t tried NuNaturals – but the orange seems like it would be refreshing in water or sparkling water. Or a mix of lemon/orange. Yum.

    • Whoa – yes don’t try directly on your tongue! 4 or 5 drops sweetens an ENTIRE cup of coffee for me and I like stuff pretty sweet. I used to sit with a guy at work that would put a few drops of the vanilla in his water and loved that.

  6. Oh fun. Ron contacted me too…I’ll be doing the same thing shortly! Good luck to those who enter.

  7. Dang – that’s a lot of flavors! I don’t use stevia, but John does. He has the big jar of powdered stevia. I bet the he would love the chocolate 😀

  8. I haven’t tried the NuNaturals. I’ve only tried the SweetLeaf Stevia once and the All Natural Herb Stevia a couple times. The 4 NuNatural products all sound so good – would like to try them all. I’ve heard it only takes a drop or two of NuNatural to use. Time to try it!

  9. I also linked up on my blog… finally found time to write something!!
    http://coffeefootballdiapers.wordpress.com/2013/02/20/week-in-photos-7-52/

  10. Love the droplets! I just used up my vanilla flavored drops so chocolate ones would be delightful in my hazelnut coffee in the am :-). Love + shine courtstar

  11. Oh, I would LOVE to get some stevia. I live in middle of nowhere and there is definitely no stevia here…hope I can get some. I think the powdered packets to put in tea would be nice.

  12. I would love to try the chocolate!

Leave a Reply

