• Shop Amazon

Be My 2013 Valentine

HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY!!

 

Valentines-Day-Heart

It’s the day you either love or hate. The day for buying fancy bouquets of luscious, velvety flowers, fancy / sentimental / humorous cards, and telling the people in your life just how much they mean to you.

I was never really “into” Valentine’s Day and my feelings seem to flip-flop every year. Some days, it’s NBD, and others… well I think it’s sweet to have a day where people make a little extra effort to tell their loved ones just how much they mean to them. Should we do that every day? Well, of course. But the fact is most of us don’t.

When Ben and I first started dating, he made it clear to me that he was not a Valentine’s Day kinda guy. He didn’t need Hallmark telling him what he needed to buy, etc… so I told him to send me flowers to work once and then I’d leave him alone on Feb 14th. That year, these beautiful gems arrived:

HW0_388137

And in a totally unexpected and non-Ali like moment, I felt like a princess. A million bucks. The most loved woman on the earth. Ben, those flowers were worth every penny!

But now that I’ve had that experience, I’m happy to let him off the hook. This morning I was grimacing at the couple new inches of powder that had arrived while I was sleeping and groggily opened my lunch bag to start filling it up. Inside was a bag of my favorite candy bars: peanut butter snickers and a card!

I’m one of those people that doesn’t buy overly sentimental or flowery cards. I stick to humor because I always feel that people enjoy a good laugh rather than reading something sugary and tear-enducing while people are staring at them. Well, Ben did a great job on this year’s card. Super sweet, sugary, and yet still funny. Oh, and now I have chocolate too – which I’ll somehow need to figure out how to ration.

If you’re alone on V-Day, I still strongly encourage you to call someone you love and tell them just how much they mean to you. Life’s short and today may be that opportunity that really touches someone else.

And then, if you’re spending the night watching sappy chick flicks, horror movies, or snuggling with your hunny – why not do it with some chocolate? This recipe caught my eye this morning and it looks amazing!

David Lebovitz’s Chocolate Sorbet

Get the full recipe *here*

  • 2 1/4 cups (555 ml) water
  • 1 cup (200 g) sugar
  • 3/4 cups (75 g) unsweetened Dutch-process cocoa powder
  • Pinch of salt
  • 6 ounces (170 g) bittersweet or semisweet chocolate, finely chopped
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Super simple and it’s vegan too! I bet this would be really good with half the water switched out for coconut milk. I could also see doing milk instead of water for a creamier more “ice cream” consistency. Maybe top with some cashews, pecans, or a drizzle of chocolate syrup! Oh the possibilities!!!

OK and for those of you who really, really hate Valentine’s Day – consider picking up a pack of these:

valentine hearts

Bwahahaha πŸ™‚

Happy Valentine’s Day. I love all you wonderful readers! ❀

8 Responses

  1. Ha Ha! Those hearts are too funny!

  2. Beautiful flowers. Happy V-Day πŸ™‚

  3. That’s the second blog post I read today with that heart cartoon LOL! We don’t really celebrate V-day much. We like to celebrate *our* days instead, like first date, regular anniversary, etc.

    • Yeah…. Ben doesn’t remember the day of our first date or anything like that (even though, supposedly, it’s on his phone calendar). At least V-Day is more “in your face” so he has a greater chance of remembering to get me my card!!!!

  4. I love the heart cartoon!!!!!

  5. That looks SO good. YUM. Travis and I are lame today haha. I honestly watched him fill out my card…

Leave a Reply

