• Shop Amazon

A Fun Follow-Up

Has anyone seen these amusing cartoons scattered across Facebook?

weather in wi

I thought it was pretty fitting this year – especially with the rollercoaster weather we’ve gotten. After the snow a few days ago, it rained all day yesterday. I am not sure I can ever recall a January where we had this much rain. Growing up, I lived further north and you would NEVER see rain until the end of March so this is a little crazy for me. But if it means the temps are warmer – I’ll take it!

I have a back-up camera in my new car. It’s probably one of the smartest and most innovative safety features a car can have. However, having not ever used one before, I was telling Ben that I really never remember to “look” at the backup camera anyway, I just turn around and back up.

So I laughed pretty hard when I ran out to hit the bank last night and actually remembered to look at my camera:

029

Silly guy! 🙂

Our local Green Bay TV station did a really nice piece on Alex back in December before he went to the Games and they called up yesterday afternoon to do a follow-up piece! You can check it out on the link below:

http://wearegreenbay.com/1fulltext-news?nxd_id=178812

I’ve still got to admit, it’s super weird to see your family on TV. Ben and I were waiting patiently for the news article when we spotted his name scrolling along the bottom of the screen: “Alex Guild brings home 2 medals in the Special Olympics World Winter Games”. Super, super, crazy cool.

Ben and I cooked a roast last night. When my classes are in swing we tend to pick two things for dinner and make enough to last the entire week. That way we’re not stuck cooking meals every night when I’m in a hurry to pack up and get to class.

I can’t quite figure out why, but I’ve got to admit I’m a bit of a failure when it comes to making roasts.

041

The last time I made one, it was really chewy and dry. So this time I tried searing the sides, adding some veggie broth, and covering with aluminum foil. I’m careful to use a meat thermometer so I know it’s not getting overcooked…

040

The taste is always wonderful and we made some yukon gold potatoes to go along – they were creamy and so flavorful – but my meat was dry and chewy.

Any roasters out there with tips to share? I’m about ready to throw in the roast towel!

All set for BodyPump tonight. I’m trying to get back into twice a week Pump classes. My back always feels amazing after the classes but if I only go once a week, I’m not really gaining any ground to be able to increase weights – and I definitely want to!

 

16 Responses

  1. Have you tried crocking the roast? That might help keep it moist and tender.

    I hate rain at this time of year. It really wreaks havoc with my garden because stuff gets icy and dies.

  2. I usually just put mine the crockpot on low all day. I put the veggies in first (potatoes + carrots). Then I put the roast on top of that. I cover it all with a can of cream of mushroom soup and about 1-2 cups of water. My kids and husband LOVE this!!

  3. The weather in NY has been just as crazy this week! Huge snow storm on Sat, and yesterday was almost 50 degrees.

  4. I make a boneless pork roast, roll it in crushed french fried onion rings, sprinkle with lemon pepper and garlic herb seasoning & add vegetable cooking stock. I add baby carrots & cut up potatoes an hour before meat is done. It’s delicious. Done in a roaster with a lid. 325 oven works good.

  5. It’s been AGES since I’ve had mashed potatoes. Yours look amazing!

  6. Great story about Alex!

  7. haha those cartoons are great!

  8. A marathon?! GO ALEX!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

