• Shop Amazon

Sneezing in the new year

Well wouldn’t you know it! I made it through the light round of kidney stones over Christmas and now have come down with the January Plague. I’m not exactly sure why, but there always seems to be some kind of bug floating around the end of December / beginning of January. I remember a year or two being sick over Christmas. Not fun!! šŸ™‚

There were a ton of people at work coughing and hacking last week and I’m pretty sure that’s where I picked it up. Not much you can do. Luckily I haven’t had a sore throat or pounding headache (those are the worst!). I’ve just had a hoarse throat, lots of sinus congestion, and an irritable throat that likes to randomly hack.

My weekend was documented as such:

011

Saturday and Sunday were the worst. I slept in until 10:30 on Saturday and wandered into the kitchen for fluids only to discover Ben had gone to the store and bought me OJ and was putting the finishing touches on a big pot of chicken noodle soup! What a guy!

009

I spent the afternoon alternating between sleeping on the sofa and watching episodes of Grey’s Anatomy on Netflix. Ben went skiing for the first time in 10 years and had a blast – plus it kept him out of the house and away from my germies. When he came back I insisted on him using the heated blanket so the chill in his legs would go away faster. I do not want him catching this!

013

Sunday I woke up still not feeling well so I sent Ben out grocery shopping while I fixed myself a bowl of steel cut oats. This bowl had chia seeds, flax seeds, walnuts, coconut milk and mini chocolate chips. Yum!

014

Ben went to our normal Sunday morning breakfast joint and it was perfect timing because one of his coworkers was there so he didn’t have to sit alone. The people at the restaurant know us pretty well now since we’re there every week and the hostess/owner asked Ben where I was. He said I was home sick and 10 minutes later she came back with a quart of their homemade chicken dumpling soup, bread, and crackers saying it would make me feel better. How wonderfully sweet was that? Things like that usually don’t happen to me but it almost made me cry – I thought it was so sweet and thoughtful of them!

012

It was delicious and it did make me feel better šŸ™‚

I’m a bit apprehensive about heading back to work today. I’m definitely not 100%. I don’t have any meetings today and I sit in my own cubicle so I think I’ll just keep my head low, wash my hands constantly, and see how it goes. Even though it’s not especially taxing to sit in a chair all day at work… for some reason you just rest and relax better at home.

Fingers crossed I get better soon and that I don’t manage to pass it to Ben!

6 Responses

  1. Hope you feel better. All the soup looks great! I started to get a scratchy throat yesterday and runny nose so I’m trying to drink a lot of water, eat my veggies, and keep a few Ricola handy!

  2. it seems like everyone is getting sick šŸ˜¦
    Hope you are feeling better – the oatmeal with chocolate chips looks fantastic!

  3. Get better soon so you can take to the slopes with Ben. šŸ™‚ Ted went snow boarding on Sat. and ended up hurting his back. He’s hobbling around but don’t think that’s getting him out of running the Disney half marathon. No Way! Send over the chicken soup, I’m sure it will work wonders on a back ache as well as a cold. No sympathy from me-he’s got it tough šŸ˜‰
    Hope you’re feeling bettter šŸ™‚

  4. That’s no way to start the new year! And how sweet of the restaurant owner šŸ˜€

    Hope you are on the mend!

Leave a Reply

