• Shop Amazon

Christmas 2012

Well hello there.

You didn’t think I’d forgotten all about you guys did you? I think it was the perfect storm of enjoying vacation time, trying to minimize Internet time, and pump water like a crazy person. So I’m behind in my posts right now but I’ll get you guys caught up quickly.

First off, can anyone believe it’s New Year’s EVE tonight! Whoa!!! This was a fast year wasn’t it?

Ok, back to Christmas 🙂

 

Christmas morning always looks amazing – all is calm; all is bright. One of my favorite things is driving to my parent’s in the morning and looking at the homes we pass. Some have lights off and I imagine them either still tucked in bed or with family, but the houses with a stray living room light on remind me of when I was a kid. Matt and I would wake each other up, grab our carefully hidden presents, and quietly trot into the living room to arrange them around the tree, turn on the lights, and get cracking opening our stockings.

DSC05054

 

Nary a soul out on the roads!

DSC05026

 

 

We started out with my family. Luckily we had a few large boxes that were great for hauling presents! It would have been a lot of work to shuffle the presents in handfuls.

DSC05030

 

 

Mom made a egg casserole that was fantastic and we brought strawberry pie bread.

DSC05039 DSC05037

 

DSC05042

 

 

DSC05031

 

 

DSC05033

 

 

Hailey got a big doggie bone in her stocking – but she didn’t seem to know what to do with it. There was a good TWO hours spent with her wagging her tail and walking back and forth in the kitchen looking like this:

DSC05040

 

Silly girl!

 

DSC05038

 

 

After hugs and packing up our loot, we went home to swap the gifts for Ben’s family’s box of goods and then headed there for lunch and more gift-opening. The animals steal the show there – known for sitting on any open box and patiently waiting for their gifts under the tree!

 

DSC05049 DSC05043 DSC05047

 

 

Ben’s mom made a wonderful roast and the boys modeled their side-line official Packer hats!

DSC05050

 

Hot stuff!

 

Around 5 we packed up and headed back to my folks for dinner. Oddly enough, this is the first time in 3 years I’ve had Christmas dinner with my family. Usually we head to Ben’s extended family’s for the evening and it was great to have a bit more Christmas time with Mom, Dad, and the brothers

DSC05052

 

 

Dinner was more of Mom’s awesome organic turkey – like a miniature Thanksgiving all over again!

DSC05051

 

 

We got home around 9:30 pm exhausted but filled with love and great memories. I *love* Christmas and truth be told, I’m always a little bummed when it’s over. I love all the excitement to look forward to and when it’s over, there isn’t a whole lot in WI to look forward to until Spring.

I hope you all had a Merry Christmas. If you’re out and about tonight – drive carefully! 🙂

3 Responses

  1. Sounds like a perfect day with family! That bread you brought looks terrific!!

  2. Happy New Year!
    Great Packer hats!!

  3. What a wonderful Christmas and a beautiful tree! Happy New Year Ali 😀

Leave a Reply

