• Shop Amazon

Christmas Swedish Cookies

I was tossing around titles for today’s post – trying to keep in theme with my Christmas songs – and was ||<– this close to naming today’s post “I’m Dreaming of a White Christmas” but then decided anything involving a cookie deserved special notice. Am I right?

At the beginning of this week I was contemplating my thoughts on having a non-white Christmas. One year, we didn’t get a decent snowfall until the 23rd and people were freaking out so much that one guy went so far as to buy a snowmachine (like the kind they use on ski hills) so he could cover his lawn several times a day. It was all over the news and looked so random with the houses on either side being green. My point is, no snow at Christmas can mess with people in WI because we always have snow.

Except we don’t now. BUT – it’s coming. Tonight.

The forecast right now has snow starting around 11pm and 3-5″ overnight. Then we’re looking at 6-10″ tomorrow, and MORE snow on Friday. White Christmas, here we come.

Aside from the Christmas essentials of snow and a tree, Christmas (to me) is all about the cookies. You can make the same cookie in March or September but it never tastes quite as good as when you make it during the Christmas season. Call me crazy, but that’s my story and I’m sticking to it!

Christmas Swedish Cookies

DSC04962

This recipe came from a good friend of my grandmother’s and I’ve seen lots of similar ones around the Interwebs. It’s a classic cookie though – rich and melt-in-your-mouth delicious!

1 cup butter, softened

1/2 cup sugar

2 large eggs, separated

1 t vanilla

1/4 t salt

2 cups flour

1 cup finely ground walnuts

DSC04959

Cream the butter and sugar, add in the egg yolks and vanilla and beat until well-blended. Add the flour and salt. Roll the dough into small balls.

Lightly wisk your egg whites in a separate bowl. Dip the dough balls into the egg whites, roll them in the walnuts and place on a cookie sheet.

DSC04960

Cook at 350 for 15 minutes.

Rolling the dough in the egg whites is messy, so I like to make all the dough balls first and then get my hands dirty. I also prefer a smaller chopping of the nuts, so I run them through my grinder twice.

DSC04965

These are melt-in-your mouth delicious. A new favorite for Ben, who must also have a thing for Christmas cookies because he gave these simple treats 5 out of 5 stars.

DSC04961

Mmm enjoy!

3 Responses

  1. Mmm! I hope I get snowed in for a day or so. I can read, blog, bake!

    • What a good plan! I think that means I need to hit the store today to get all the ingredients because once this storm hits – there will be no running to the store for an egg because I am one short. πŸ™‚

  2. I’ve never had those before! In a big Italian family,Swedish cookies don’t exist. Though they look tasty and I wish they did πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

