• Shop Amazon

12-12-12

It’s Wednesday, December 12th folks.

12-12-12

Otherwise known (in Wisconsin) as the official Aaron Rodgers Day!

(Wesley Hitt / Getty Images)

Governor Walker declared today be Aaron Rodger’s Day in Wisconsin. It’s a fun idea too – all through WI there are various events and fundraisers going on for Rodger’s charity, the MACC Fund. Some bars are offering plates of 12 shots for $12, malls have #12 t-shirts on sale for $12, and there’s a bar in Eau Claire that’s trying to set a record for the most Aaron Rodgers jerseys in one location (crazy?).

All I know is that people around here love Rodgers.

Rodgers1

Maybe because he overcame tremendous opposition when he was named the starting quarterback and Favre was let go? Maybe because he seems like a genuine, down-to-earth person? Maybe because he’s just the best quarterback in the league? I don’t know. I do remember not so long ago when the world was all about Favre and the idea of letting the hero retire to make room for some guy who couldn’t make it through a single game uninjured… no one was happy.

Oh how things change!

I’ll make Ben wear his Rodgers jersey tonight around the house and I’ll put on some kind of Packer gear (I don’t have a jersey, Christmas idea anyone????). With the exception of a certain action figure in which I am in hot pursuit of, I am very happy to report that I have finished Christmas shopping, spent WAY more than last year, and now just need to wait for it all to arrive!

Last night I started sorting through boxes to find wrapping paper and trimmings. I’m faintly amused by how much I’ve collected over the years. What can I say? I love after-Christmas deals! I think this year I’ll be scouting the stores for decorations I can put up next year. I’ve done a few things but it’s been minimal.

DSC04936

We originally bought the small red and green stockings and I was going to write our names on them. Then I found the cute fuzzy letter stockings for just $5 each and decided I liked those better (please note all the tags, I have to see if I like them before I decide which to return!). Some day I’d like to cross stitch some stockings for us… but those will take forever and Christmas is less than 2 weeks away!

Ben grabbed the garland at the store one day and I added a few poinsettia leaves and a candle. Then I found some LED candles that flicker and have a 4-hour timer on them. They look awesome!

DSC04937

I need a few candle stands to put some bright red candles on to give the mantle a bit more oomph but I’m happy with how we quickly put it together. Now it feels like Christmas ๐Ÿ™‚

I also unpacked all my dishes. I had started looking last year but did it too late when most things were picked over. I picked up some shallow bowls in a style I liked (on super discount) and then hoped they’d bring it back this year.

DSC04934

Thankfully they did and I was able to get some serving items, plates, and a few Christmas mugs.

DSC04933

DSC04935

I’m *really* excited I picked up the shallow bowls last year because this year’s style is more of a cereal bowl. It’s fun to have a little more variety in the dishes. I told Ben we’ll have to use them for a special meal this year even if it’s just for the two of us.

I’d like to know – how are all of you doing on Christmas shopping? Are you done? Have you started wrapping yet? Did you spend more, less, or the same as last year? Let me know!

5 Responses

  1. I LOVE those plates and such…simple yet elegant ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I am finished with the shopping. Just waiting on a few more items to arrive via UPS.

    • Call me crazy but I get really excited waiting for gifts to arrive – even though they aren’t for me. I enjoy finding the perfect gift, yes it’s stressful some years, but love to wrap and love to get excited to see people open things. I’m a little kid in that respect, what can I say? ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I cannot *stand* Brett Favre. Ugh! I was probably the only person glad to see him retire. Aaron on the other hand – he seems genuinely nice and handled his transition very classily (is that a word). Not to mention he is quite easy on the eyes ๐Ÿ˜€

    Not quite sure he is the best quarterback, though. Drew Brees and Peyton Manning are in competition for that!

    • It’s funny, so many people *loved* Favre but, like with so many public figures, you only see one side to them. For many who saw some of the behind-the-scene things, Favre wasn’t so peachy. I was glad to see him gone although I appreciated how good he was for the team.

      As for Rodgers – I think he’s ranked the #1 QB right now overall. I do think Manning and Brees have beat him in certain areas but how they roll it up to rank as of last week he was #1. But what a year Manning is having! I’m actually laughing a bit at Indy. Sure he wasn’t going to be ‘the future’ and will retire in a few years but I think he showed them he wasn’t washed up. Good for him!

Leave a Reply

