• Shop Amazon

Finished!

It feels sooooo good to be done! Last night I submitted my Finance stuff and tackled the exam and already this morning the results were posted. I love it when teachers are on top of things like that because I hate waiting for final grades. The sooner I get them; the sooner I can submit to have my fees reimbursed.

I’m itching to get some Christmas things bought and displayed. Ben located my box with my Christmas scented candles and put the apple cinnamon one by my computer. I have the world’s smallest computer desk and so we’re using my old bedroom nightstand as the place for the router and my coffee. πŸ™‚

I mentioned how I grabbed Mom and Dad for some Black Friday shopping. I have some awesome memories of Black Friday with my Dad – Mom would prefer to avoid the crazy crowds. This year we went out at 11am after most people had already been out and about for over 12 hours (insane!!) and browsed the leftovers for anything fun.

Bed, Bath, and Beyond had a set of lamps on clearance. The tall floor lamp was missing so instead of the normal $80 price, it was discounted to $35. Plus, as I was lugging it across the store, a storeman brought me a cart and handed me one of the 20% off coupons. Score!

They look AWESOME in the family room and we really needed more light in that room!

Now Ben wants the floor lamp too. Ha Ha

I’ve done a lot of shopping online, which I tend to do because I can check prices quickly, compare shipping, and it arrives right at my door with no crowds and ridiculous parking. I always get so excited when the boxes start arriving. I need to get cracking on wrapping soon. πŸ™‚

I have to share a little tip I’ve been doing for the past few years. Last year I started keeping track of what I bought various people and how much I spent. I was able to recall what I’d bought the year before 2010, so I made an Excel tab called ‘2010’, listed each person, and then listed everything I bought them. Last year I included prices on every purchase so I’d have a general idea of how much I spent. Then, all through this year, whenever I had an idea for anyone, I’d go into the ‘2012’ tab and enter the idea. By the time Thanksgiving rolled around, I had lots of ideas for various people and it made shopping sooo much easier. Plus, I have a best friend that I still exchange gifts with each year and I didn’t want to forget what I bought her since it tends to be the same type of stuff each year. It’s simple, easy, and you can password protect the document (and call it something innocuous) so inquiring eyes do not see! Every idea you have that you don’t buy, just pick it up and put it in the ‘2013’ list and you’re already ahead of the game for next year. πŸ™‚

A few weeks ago I suggested to Ben that we purchase an ornament for the tree each year. We were walking around looking for ideas late last night and I couldn’t pass these up:

Do you know how hard it is to get an ornament with my name spelled correctly? It’s Al -ison people – just the way it SOUNDS. Not All-ison!! πŸ™‚

Looking forward to finding more Christmas boxes tonight. We bought a few green floodlights for the front porch and now it looks like we’re deck’ed out in Christmas spirit even though we’ve only got half of the lights up.

Have you finished decorating? Is your shopping done or are you a last-minute shopper?

2 Responses

  1. Dang but you are organized with the shopping!

    I like that table the lamp is on (and the lamp). Is that a rustic wood finish?

  2. Hehehe nice work finding an ornament for you! Those are really cute! And YAYYYY for being all done! Enjoy the break from it all!

Leave a Reply

