• Shop Amazon

Giving Thanks

What a fantastic and long weekend! If nothing else, that’s reason to give thanks, don’t you think? I packed a lot into the days off and cranked my way through all of my Procurement final and am 1/2 way through the Finance final.

Thanksgiving was ridiculously, gloriously, wonderfully warm. I was on kitchen-baking detail and sent Ben out to start hanging the Christmas lights. I grabbed a picture of him about 10 seconds before he took his sweater off. We walked around in t-shirts all day.

I was in charge of making the cornbread, sweet potatoes, and pumpkin cheesecake. My original plan was to make the cheesecake the night before but I got lazy and hung out with Ben instead. ๐Ÿ™‚ Does anyone else see the irony of my cage free eggs, organic pumpkin, yogurt, sugar, butter, and raw pecans sitting alongside jet puffed marshmallows?

No morning bake-a-thon is complete without coffee!

I always make cheesecake in a water bath but this recipe should be made one pan-size bigger – and that doesn’t fit in my glass dish underneath. So I just make it work…

Pumpkin and cheesecake: the star ingredients!

I love this gluten-free crust. I just take almond meal, pecans, sugar, butter, and spices and spread that over the bottom of the pan. Delicious!

 

Once my cake was in the oven, I got to work prepping the sweet potatoes and the cornbread. I ran into a bit of a snafu though. The cheesecake was supposed to take an hour to bake. At TWO hours I had to pull it out – ready or not – because I was now going to make us late getting to Ben’s place for lunch (supper?). Whoops!ย 

The pictures stopped because I was seriously flying around in panic mode at this point. I managed to snap a finished pic of the cornbread but not a single one of my sweet pots. ๐Ÿ˜ฆย As it was, we arrived 30 minutes late.

We watched the football games and dined on chicken, “stuffed” mashed potatoes, stuffing, and cranberry/blueberry wine. Is “supper” considered the noontime meal and then “dinner” the evening meal? I rarely use the term “supper” but Thanksgiving lunch sounds way too informal.

We drove from Ben’s parents’ house over to see my family. Along the way, check out this beautiful Thanksgiving sunset

Ben and I had to go easy with our eats earlier so we’d still have room for feast #2. My brothers, on the other hand, were anxiously waiting to dig in!

mom made her amazing stuffing…

There’s always a “new” recipe we try each year. This time it was to make this cranberry jello. The gelatin is unflavored and sweetened with cranberry juice and it’s loaded full of cranberries, pears, and walnuts.

The star of the show, for me, is mom’s pumpkin knot rolls. I remember one year she made a TRIPLE batch and we still didn’t have any left over by Saturday. They are that good.

The gang – all ready to eat!

I’m happy to report the cheesecake turned out super. Very, very creamy and wonderful.

Mom made an apple pie. On my side, we went for a 100% organic Thanksgiving so mom opted out of some of the thickeners she normally uses. It was soupy on the bottom but delectable in my tummy. Plus, the crust was slightly thick, perfectly chewy – no one makes pie crust the way mom does.

I had a slice of each and was stuffed!

I love Thanksgiving for many reasons: it’s a rare time when people reflect and give thanks. Admit it, we could all do this better throughout the year – or at least me! Plus, it’s wonderful family time. It’s amazing how I don’t see my family much anymore even though we live in the same city. Finally, it’s the start of the Christmas season – my absolute favorite time of the year. I’m thankful for so much this year – it’s been a good one – and among all the things that I consider myself lucky to have, all of my blog readers and friends are included. Thanks to all of you!

4 Responses

  1. Mmmm that pumpkin cheesecake looks amazing! Actually it all looks so good. Glad you had a great time ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. What a great celebration. And wow, you and your brothers look SO alike! Have a great week Ali!

    • Funny you say that Roz – I once brought in a family portrait of us kids in to work and one of my co-workers asked who the other people were. When I told him they were my brothers, he commented that they didn’t look anything like me! I thought he was crazy ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Sounds like a fun day and yum on those pumpkin rolls!

Leave a Reply

