• Shop Amazon

Chicken Potato Corn Chowdah

Chowdah is more fun to say than chowder, don’t you think??

I have to credit Lori with this idea – her potato corn chowder looked amazing and I definitely got the craving!

I loved the idea of puree’ing (is that a word?) the soup to thicken it without needing cups and cups of cheese, except that my blender is seemingly nowhere to be found. Oh well, plan B!

The thing I love most about soups is that you can pretty much toss in what you want, a little less of this and a little more of that, until you get what you want. It’s not an exact science the way baking is. So I started out by peeling and chopping potatoes until I had a sufficient amount. Then I put them on the stove with a carton of vegetable broth and 4 cups of water and let those start to cook up and soften.

I pawned off onion cutting to Ben – for some reason he isn’t bothered by watery eyes when cutting. My hero!

The potatoes were simmering away and then I took 3 cloves of garlic, a large onion, and 1/2 a stick of butter and cooked down the onions until they were translucent. Then I just added in 1/2 cup of flour and let the flour brown up a touch. From there, I slowly poured in 2 cups of milk (I used 1%) making a thick roux.

Add your onion roux to the pot along with a bag of corn. Season with your favorite spices. I used 1 1/2 t of salt, 1 t of pepper, and 3/4t italian seasoning (cause I love italian seasoning)

If you need more water, you can add more water. If you want a richer looking soup, you could add additional milk or even cream.

I also wanted to *beef* up the soup with some protein – so we cooked a pound of ground chicken and added that as well. Corn and potatoes are starchy and I wanted to balance the meal.

We cooked some bacon and broke it into small pieces. I love the taste of bacon but when I cook it in the soup, it gets soft and mushy and I prefer my bacon crisp.

I had another go with the new-to-me stove and tried to make some buttermilk biscuits to go along.

My mom used to always make either biscuits or muffins when she made a large pot of soup. My favorite were her raspberry muffins – absolutely delicious.

I need to remember this oven is way hotter than the one at my apartment. 10 minutes at 450 degrees and these things were looking a bit torched. Whoops!

The result was delicious though – we topped the chowdah off with some sharp white cheddar cheese and the crumbled bacon. The pepper added a nice depth of flavor. Yum

Chicken Potato Corn Chowdah:

1 pound ground chicken, cooked (optional)

1 package bacon, cooked and crumbled

5 large potatoes, peeled and diced

1 carton vegetable broth (chicken would work too, but I couldn’t find a low sodium one without MSG)

4 cups water (more or less depending on desired consistency, it thickens as it cooks/cools)

1 large onion, diced

3 cloves garlic, minced

1/2 stick butter

1/2 c flour

1 package frozen corn

1 1/2 t salt

1 t pepper

3/4 t italian seasoning (optional)

sharp white cheddar

The best part of a large pot of warm soup is that there are amazing leftovers! This soup was just as good the second day.

Bon Appetit!

4 Responses

  1. You just cannot go wrong with potato soup! Now I want to make some more LOL!

  2. Potato and bacon? Yes please.

  3. I saw this on Lori’s site. It looks so good!

Leave a Reply

