• Shop Amazon

Recipe: Chicken Wild Rice Soup

We can all let out a collective sigh, midterms are now done.

Scores have already been posted for my Finance class and I did great – much better than I expected. Since last night’s midterm was open book, I’m not too concerned about that one. It’s sooooo nice to have those out of the way for another semester. Now just cruise along on the mandatory (and gut-wrenching) group projects before coasting into finals. On that note, it’s nice to mentally know that 1/2 the semester is behind me now.

It only took me 90 minutes to finish the final, so I was in time to help Ben with a few car loads of stuff. We’re moving a bit at a time each night this week and should be in great shape by Saturday when all the heavy furniture gets moved.

I’ll admit it’s a bit amusing once we combine all of Ben and my stuff together. There’s a bit of overkill on some things…

Meanwhile I’m antsy to get rocking on some fun projects – like weeding the front small flower patch and trying to put a mum or two in for the Fall.

There’s a tiny corner spot I am affectionately referring to as the “dead zone”. I’ll have to research and find something that likes dry soil and shade to put there.

It’s been a long, long time since I posted a recipe and that’s because we tend to make one thing and eat leftovers for several days. Neither of us minds leftovers so this works great. I’ve been making a big batch of whatever on Sunday nights and then we’re good for a few days and can just reheat and run – perfect for nights when I’m in class or we’re busy with moving stuff.

This week’s recipe is chicken and wild rice soup. It’s getting colder out and soup is my ultimate winter comfort food! This is a thick and creamy soup that’s hearty and filling!

Chicken Wild Rice Soup

  • One pound chicken (we used ground chicken and it works great, no shredding or cutting!)
  • 3 large carrots
  • 2 stalks of celery
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1 medium sized onion
  • 4 cups chicken broth
  • 2 cups water
  • 2 cups milk (we used 2%)
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 2/3 c flour (oat flour worked just fine)
  • 1 package quick cooking long grain wild rice (4.5 oz)
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1/2 t pepper

In a large saucepan, cook your chicken, celery, onions, and garlic. Add your water and chicken stock and bring to a boil, then add your rice. Cover and remove from heat.

Make your roux by melting the butter in a small sauce pan over medium heat and add the flour, salt, and pepper. Stir until the flour is bubbly and turns a light, golden brown. Slowly add in the milk a 1/4 cup at a time, (a whisk works great here) stirring until the milk is fully incorporated each time.

Add the roux to your soup, heat through, and serve!

(This recipe is much thicker the second day. I stir in a little more water before re-heating.)

Ben is crazy about this soup. So much so that he emailed me around 10am yesterday to tell me he couldn’t wait to get home to have soup! 🙂

2 Responses

  1. That sounds like a wonderful winter warming recipe. Delish!

  2. Haha – does the ‘dead zone’ get hit with roof run off there? Might be why nothing is growing.

    Congrats on doing well on the midterm! What is your major again?

Leave a Reply

