• Shop Amazon

The House is Ours

Alright ladies and gentlemen, I’m typing up this most a mere 2 minutes after dumping coffee all over my desk, all over my work clothes, all over the blanket I JUST washed last night… I think that’s a sign the worst thing of the week is out of the way, right? 🙂

Where to start? It’s been a crazy, crazy weekend over here. So much to do. The people didn’t move out of the house until 9:30pm the day of closing, so Ben wasted his day of vacation and we spent the whole night sitting around and driving past waiting for them to be done. It soured me quite a bit and to be honest, ruined the experience quite a bit for me. It was a rough weekend.

We went over at 9:30 to check the status of things and Ben took a gazillion pictures before we called it a night. Friday morning we were up and ready to go! Vacation day for us both.

Breakfast of champions(?)

Sausage, egg, and cheese McMuffin and a caramel mocha. I think this is only the second time in my entire life that I’ve had a McMuffin. They are pretty awesome but I’m sure the sodium and carb count will not make them something I buy often.

We surveyed all the rooms and decided to wipe all the walls down to see which ones looked like they needed to be re-painted and which didn’t. Washing walls is not a fun job! Ben’s mom and dad came over to help wash and wipe out kitchen cabinets. Ben’s mom even brought BBQ beef for lunch and a stevia-sweetened homemade apple pie!!

 

 

 

I think his mom’s apple pie ranks in the top 3 of Ben’s all-time favorite foods. It was such a wonderful treat and meant that we could work into the evening without having to stop and figure out what to make for lunch.

Sadly, we discovered all the carpets are in pretty rough shape. They had waterbeds in all the bedrooms and probably never moved them so there’s so much wear and tear around where the beds were:

 

We’re hoping the carpet cleaners will help make this a bit less noticeable because the current budget does not include replacing carpeting in every room of the house!

I’ve started lining all the cupboards with shelf lining. I had some left over from my apartment so we didn’t have to buy a lot more.

And we have sufficient cleaning products to address any issue – big or small!

I won’t deny, it’s a bit crazy right now. Adding in house prepping to my already jam-packed schedule and I feel about ready to burst. I’m now planning hour by hour to try and get everything in! But through it all I am able to occasionally stop and enjoy the house. I think when we have all this work done and our things are moved and life quiets down a bit, it’s going to be fabulous.

The lot is just perfect – ample space in the backyard

And this beautiful tree in the front yard:

I also can’t believe it’s October – so Sept recap coming at you tomorrow. In the meantime, this designated hour is up and time to get going! Have a great day!

One Response

  1. Congratulations!!

Leave a Reply

