• Shop Amazon

The Failed Bike Seat

With all the recent biking, my tush has wanted a break from my tiny bike seat. So like any person in a similar situation would do, I went to the store and purchased a plush seat with springs and the whole nine yard. Ahh I packed my bike up, drove it over to the parents’, and had Dad switch the seats out. It was raining so I didn’t hop on… until last night. Almost immediately I could tell it wasn’t right. The seat is on the lowest position it could be but it’s still way, way too high. Plus the seat pitches me forward so there is a TON more pressure on my wrists. If I shift back in my seat then the pain in my legs starts shooting. Nope. After half a mile I couldn’t do it anymore, hopped off, and walked the rest of the way back home.

Seat Fail

We poked around to see if we could tilt the seat back a bit but the main issue is the seat sits too much higher. Maybe another reason to think about a new bike next year? πŸ™‚ In the meantime I’ll just stick it out. After all, there won’t be too much biking left this season anyway.

While the end of Summer marks shorter days, back to school, and one step closer to Winter, it also brings so many things I’m looking forward to.

Like apples – the orchard opens Sept 8th. Apple cider here I come!!

 

After my failed bike attempt last night, I came home and Ben made me one of our staple meals: Annies shells and cheese with ground chicken and broccoli. I have got to say, we are really doing better with having a veggie at dinner every night. It wasn’t so long ago that it was a big struggle but it’s definitely becoming more habitual now.

After dinner and a quick change of clothes I headed back outside to get more pedometer steps. We’re 2 1/2 weeks into the 4 week August 100 mile challenge. Guess what? I just passed 100 miles! I thought it would be a lot harder but I’ve been putting in serious time every day and have some side bets with co-workers on who can rack in more steps. So I’ll keep plugging away for the rest of the time and see how I do when it’s all over.

Pretty evening and 2.25 miles in the bag.

I have dinner with a friend tonight so I’ll have to head out for a quick walk during lunch to help with today’s totals!

6 Responses

  1. Wow – 100 miles in 2.5 weeks?! That’s awesome!!

  2. Great job on the 100 miles! Regarding the seat, you should get the bike fitted to you at a bike shop. They will put you on a block with your bike and get the correct angle of the seat and bend in your leg. It makes a huge difference!

    • Yeah I think that’s the key. At this point I just wonder about getting it all set up at the bike shop when I’ll likely only be riding a few more weeks this year (it gets cold and dark fast). But if I don’t get a new bike next year I’m definitely going to do that!

  3. You can also get padded cycling shorts! Awesome job on the mileage!!!

  4. You put in some great miles. How about getting a trainer for the winter? Then you can ride inside but you’d have to fix that seat. πŸ™‚
    Can’t WAIT for fall apples. There’s nothing better.

Leave a Reply

