• Shop Amazon

Birthday Happenings

I’ve always been a birthday freak: I love birthdays. I love giving presents; I love getting presents. I love balloons. I love cake. I love ice cream. I love how everyone is always in a happy mood and how, like with many holidays, birthdays are a chance to be with the people you love.

So because I love birthdays so much, allow me to recap mine this past Sunday.

Last year my birthday was crazy. We’d had a showing scheduled and were cleaning like crazy, then we quickly packed up to head to Madison for a trip to an awesome steak house, flew back for the Packer pre-season game, and scurried home to find we had another showing we needed to clean for. Since Ben had a roomie at the time (and the roomie had a cat), we had to clean again after only being gone a day.

Pretty awesome to ring in the 3-0 at a Packer game eh?

This year things were decidedly more mellow. In fact, we just went with our normal Sunday routine – breakfast at our breakfast place followed by grocery shopping for the week. (I think we’re getting boring in our old age!)

 

I did laundry, went for a walk, and only let Ben refer to me as “the birthday girl” all day. Ha!

Then, for dinner, we drove over to Mom & Dad’s. Mom tried out a new recipe: grilled chicken l’orange. Fancy schmancy

No birthday is complete without cake. Somehow we have every candle number available except one and Dad was determined to fix it even though I really didn’t need any candles at all.

Attempt #1

Dad said the single candle was too puny. Attempt #2

Dad said it didn’t match.

Attempt #3

Perfect!

We feasted on homemade chocolate cake with peanut butter frosting. Delicious!

Matt showed us some tricks he’s been working on with Hailey

Dad cranked some old school tunes on the turn table he just dug out of storage

And we talked and had a merry time. 🙂

And the best part is that in 360 – some days, I’ll get to do it all again! 🙂

2 Responses

  1. Congrats on a wonderful birthday. As for the “old age” thing… just wait! The older you get the more determined you MIGHT get to be “young” and rowdy. 🙂

  2. What a great birthday! Sometimes quiet days with family are the best days. And I would eat all the peanut butter frosting. Yum!

Leave a Reply

