• Shop Amazon

Shorter Days

It seems like it happens almost overnight – one day you realize the days are getting shorter! For me, it creeps up. One minute I can bounce out of bed and find matching socks without the need for a light… and the next day I can’t.

I noticed it for the first time this week. I think that means Summer is wrapping up. Bummer – I was just getting used to this nice weather. ๐Ÿ™‚ Yesterday I was cleaning my apartment when I glanced outside and realized if I was going to get a bike ride in, I needed to go right away.

Weaving in and out of some backstreets and heading North of where I usually bike, I even saw one of my old co-workers and his children biking to the park! Then on my way home, I was heading up a hill (hard but not so steep you need to stand up for extra power) and noticed 3 slender high school girls struggling up the hill. Is it wrong to say I smirked a little bit when I flew by them on the hill? Thin doesn’t equal fit folks!

When I came home, you can see how late it was getting – and it wasn’t even 8pm yet!

Definitely need to get the headlight on my bike fixed ASAP!

Distance: 6.83 miles

Time: 36:44

Avg Speed: 11.2

Yay for more biking miles to add to my yearly goals!

After the biking I spent the rest of the evening scouring my kitchen. My landlord is walking through my apartment today to see what the condition is and I’d rather it look as gently lived in as possible so I might be able to avoid extra fees for replacing the closet bar I broke.

By the way, white cabinets are NOT my friend – they show lots of drips, spills, and dust!

All sparkly and clean!

Ben spent the evening helping his folks rip down their deck so I was whipping up a dinner for one:

andouille chicken sausages with red, green, and yellow peppers, onions, and broccoli!

Lots of pretty colors and leftovers for tonight!

And since it was just me, I whipped together a tiny microwave cake made with stevia, hazelnut flour, an egg, mini chocolate chips, baking powder, and some peanut butter sauce on top. All sugar free and gluten-free!

Yum!

It’s raining out this morning and the storm clouds aren’t helping with making it look dark. about to head to work and yes, I had to turn the lights on to find socks this morning. ๐Ÿ™‚

Tomorrow’s Friday. Whoop!

3 Responses

  1. Evening bike rides have to come earlier now. If we want a yogurt ride, that means eating dinner earlier and getting right out on the bikes! Oh well, long days can’t last forever.

    I never ride in the dark. Drivers are not smart enough around here for me to trust them, even with flashing lights. I have got caught a couple times at dusk and I was so nervous I rode partly on the sidewalk.

  2. I notices the days seemed to be getting shorter too! My family told me a lot of it was due to cloudiness this week, but I’m not 100% convinced lol

  3. I can relate to the white kitchen Ali. Ours is white too. Mr. Clean “erasers” are our friend. Have a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

