• Shop Amazon

Making the most of August

I’m beginning to sound like a broken record to all my friends and co-workers but I’m seriously loving this weather. It’s been in the 70s and absolutely fabulous.

I don’t even know where to begin – a lot of stuff happened over the weekend. I’ve been seriously focused on this 100 mile challenge and have been walking or biking every spare minute I’ve had. My body is wondering what’s going on and I have an array of minor injuries: a blister on the arch of my foot, sore feet in general, a tight back, a really sore tush from biking, and a general pooped-out feeling. In short, I’m beat.

Saturday I went out to knock a few miles out on the bike and Ben snapped a shot of me when I came back:

 

I don’t believe in matching. šŸ˜‰

The plan was to knock out 5 or 6 miles. It was windier than I would have liked (winds were 18mph) but I kept trekking along. I only took one break, at 7.8 miles in, and then kept pressing along. What’s funny is my pace was really good despite how long I went and how tired I was. I think the key was that I kept pedaling the entire time and didn’t coast.

Saturday BikeĀ Total:

Distance: 15.32 miles

Time: 1hr 20min

Avg Speed: 11.4 mph

Fastest Speed: 15.5 mph

Calories Burned: 848

I came home and needed a little carb pick-me-up and settled for inhaling an entire pint of raspberries in 15 seconds.

We’ve also been feasting on some amazing melon lately. I’m so glad Ben likes melon because it’s easy to prep and is a fun change from the berries we pack in our lunches.

I’ve been trying to keep a bit more of a check on my protein and carbs lately. I’ve been upping the protein on days I try for some strength training and upping my carbs on days when I plan for long walks or bike rides. A new favorite and quick meal for us has been omelets stuffed with veggies and some kind of fruit on the side:

Our nights have been busy too. On Friday we went over to my co-worker’s house for dinner and to watch a few episodes of a TV series they love. She made us quite the fancy spread: turkey, ceasar salad, cheesy potatoes, glazed carrots, cranberries, and garlic toast. We got home around 11 and I hit the bed hard. On Saturday we went over to one of Ben’s co-worker’s houses for a Summer party. I did really well on the food there and just went with a bratwurst, corn on the cob, and some pasta salad. Another late night and after the 15 miles on the bike, whoa!

I really was aggressive this first week. I have no idea if I’ll get sick or injured and wanted to try and surpass my weekly goal of 25 miles. I’m happy to report I am ahead of the game. Now to just keep plugging along.

On a side note, I really, really, really need a water bottle and a better seat for my bike. My butt is seriously not happy with me. I’ll have to get to the store and see what I can find – maybe some springs on the seat to absorb some of the road bumps?

And for a final parting thought, I did contribute to Friday’s dinner with dessert:

More delicious brownie pictures coming at you tomorrow!

4 Responses

  1. You might want to invest in some bike shorts. That will help with your tush. Although, it should start to feel better in a couple weeks if you keep riding.

    I certainly don’t match with my workout clothes – if fact, they can be downright clashy at times LOL! Depends on what is clean…

    • Do you think bike shorts would help more than a bike seat with some cushion and springs? The pain isn’t to much directly on my bottom, more up inside where the legs would fall over the sides of the seat, if that makes sense. All I know is every little bump hurts! You’re right though, the more I do it the better I’ll feel – like most things right?

  2. You’re doing great. Your butt will eventually get used to the longer rides. Keep it up. Don’t those healthy aches and pains feel great?! It’s important to know the good ones from the bad though.

  3. You are doing so well Ali. (despite the sore tush) Yay you!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

