• Shop Amazon

Bye-Bye July

We’re wrapping up July already. It sure goes by fast doesn’t it??

There’s some notable changes too. After weeks of no rain,  crispy grass and trees, and corn that didn’t quite live up to the old adage “knee high by the 4th of July”.

The backyards all looked the same: varying shades of brown.

But we’ve gotten a lot of rain over the past week and things are brightening up as if the drought never even happened.

Ben says he checks out our house on his way to work every morning and it’s greening up too. Exciting 🙂

We’ve done a really good job eating well this week. Sure, it’s only Wednesday but we stocked up on all kinds of fruits and veggies this past week and are making a concerted effort to reach for those instead of larger portion sizes or chips/snacks.

Our fridge is piled high with grapes, Greek yogurt, red, green, and yellow peppers, all kinds of berries , broccoli, and eggs. Good stuff. Speaking of peppers, one of my peppers is starting to turn red.

I am guessing the hot weather is making it ripen a little quicker than usual because it’s still fairly tiny. I’m hoping it stays on the vine a bit longer and beefs up in size.  We’ll see. With the slightly cooler weather (not withstanding the past few days), my flowers are back blooming again.

Ben was responsible for dinner last night and cooked chicken breasts with herb seasoning and chopped up a bunch of broccoli

I’ve caught Ben nibbling on bananas after dinner when he’s hungry for a late snack. I’m proud. 🙂

I’m stalling going to the gym for the first time. I really hate gyms. OK, that’s a lie. I hate people IN gyms. Empty gyms are fine. Ha! So we’ll see if I can get going and try for gym workout #1 tonight!

6 Responses

  1. We’re all in the same boat with brown, crispy grass. It’s depressing but who can complain?! All that sun! It sure beats a rainy summer. I’ll take it 🙂
    Good eats. Look at all those berries in your fridge! Wow! If I buy more than one pint, I end up making something completely unhealthy like fatty muffins. Good but bad on the waist line.

  2. Wow that’s crazy how different the grass looks! When you look at the pictures side by side the change is so much more noticable. My grass has suffered (not the worst summer it’s seen) but enough that I am super thankful for the rain. I think this weather is causing plants and veggies to grow and ripen faster–my arugula is growing like a vine!

  3. Seems like it might be time to make some strawberry jam! I have a 2 pound box ready to do that for the jam exchange. If only I can find the time 😀

  4. I’m bowing at your feet for your fridge organizing. Can you fly up here to Vancouver and help me sort mine!? Thanks! 🙂 yay for the little pepper!!!!!

Leave a Reply

