• Shop Amazon

A Time to Relax

Hey guys!

It’s hard to believe it’s almost Friday. Does a vacation week ever go by slowly though?? I don’t think so! I’ve been spending my time vegging about doing random, odd things. One interesting (?) thing though is that I’ve been having a ton of wrist pain lately. I think it’s because I don’t have a wrist guard or wrist rest for my keyboard and mouse here at home. On Sunday it was feeling pretty bad and I iced it and worked through some stretches and have been doing that ever since – and limiting the Internet time to give my wrist a chance to heal.

You’ll all be happy to know I’ve perfected my iced coffee routine now. 🙂 It didn’t take long!

 

I don’t have space in my apartment fridge (it’s so tiny!) for a pitcher devoted to coffee grounds and water – so I just brew a single serve iced Keurig and pop it into the fridge to cool and then add my ice, milk, and stevia. It’s perfect! I even found a bottle of Torani sugar free vanilla syrup that I sometimes add for a special treat.

Before we had the Keurig, I would buy lots of vanilla hazelnut Cameron’s coffee from the store. Now they have single serving cups that fit in the Keurig too – and they are cheaper. Even better!

 

We’ve been getting some MUCH needed rain around here – and lots of un-needed humidity. But the rain has things looking green once more. Last night I was watching a movie and a sudden downpour began. I dashed out on the porch to pull my plants further back so they wouldn’t be doused and in the ~12 seconds it took to do it, I was drenched!

 

Downpour!

 

Tonight I made more pecan crusted chicken along with some rice and beans. Ben has informed me that frozen beans are now officially off his list. He will only eat fresh ones. (But, in fairness, that bag of beans was really bad).

 

But I redeemed myself with my best batch of rice ever!

 

Seriously, this rice was the bomb!

Just take a cup of rice and instead of the full 2 cups of water, sub chicken stock for 1 1/2 cups and make the last 1/2 cup up with light coconut milk. You’ll end up with this thick, creamy out-of-this-world flavorful rice. No funky ingredients like many of those flavored rice packs you can buy in the store too. Winner, winner – chicken and rice for dinner. 😉

 

Yum!

Ben’s taking tomorrow off of work and we’re hoping to go up to Door County for a day trip to visit his folks. Kinda depends on the weather though – right now it’s not looking like it will be good weather. Lots more rain on the way!

2 Responses

  1. I love rice cooked with coconut milk. Yum! Hope your wrist feels better. I had to wear a brace for a while and take antiinflammatories for tenosynovitis. It went away after a while (thank goodness) and hasn’t bothered me since.

    Glad you liked the roses. I so badly want the Pumpkin Patch rose bush, but I really just don’t have anywhere to put it unless I overhaul my garden. Or make it bigger taking up more of the front lawn…. which I just may have to do….

    • Hopefully getting a mouse rest and wrist rest will help. The pumpkin patch rose looks absolutely amazing. There’s not a place for stuff in the new house without ripping out some old bushes but I’m not afraid of that at all. 🙂

      Tell your neighbor you want to move a wee bit into their yard for your roses. I’m sure they wouldn’t mind. 🙂

Leave a Reply

