• Shop Amazon

The Heat Continues

With the official countdown to Fall classes rolling around in my head, I’m trying to cram in all the things I take for granted when I am in the middle of a semester reading nothing but textbooks.

Now that I’ve been done with the first ’50 Shades’ book, I’m tackling the final book of the Hunger Games series (thank you Angela!). Unfortunately, the heat only allowed me to bask in the sun and work on my tan for about 8 minutes. 🙂

I made a return to the gym! Sunday was just too ridiculously hot to be wogging outside, so I decided a trip to the gym at work would be just the thing.

I had the whole place to myself – and remembered why I don’t exercise during the weekends. They don’t turn the air on and it’s a furnace. With no breeze, I think it felt warmer than the 90 degree temps outside.

Red faced and sweaty, I managed my 20min on the treadmill and then a round on the circuit.

Feel the burn baby!

Followed by another 10 minutes outside afterwards guzzling ice water.

Another pepper bites the heat dust:

We wound up over at my folks’ for dinner. We supplied a variety of bratwurst for an official family taste test: regular chicken brats, chicken fajita, bacon cheeseburger, chicken and wild rice, and spicy jalapeno.

Excited bratwurst-eating family!

Some friends brought over their dog Zeke and we watched the two puppies prance around and enjoy each other. Hard to believe they are only 2 weeks apart in age!

Best friends already!

Hailey was still hyper from all her dog fun, so Alex played fetch with her in the backyard. We still have to keep her on the long leash for this, because she can get super excited and just dash off running.

Every year, on the weekend after the 4th, a house across the river from my parents has a huge fireworks display. As the years have gone by, more and more people know about it and you’ll see random people drive up and park to watch the display. It’s majorly impressive and sometimes lasts longer than the downtown city fireworks.

I love fireworks. 🙂 Temps today are expected to hit triple digits. My A/C is happily cranking away in my apartment and the fridge is packed with ice and anything else we may need to slug it out for a few more days in this heat!

2 Responses

  1. You should come up here during the summer. You can see fireworks 2 or 3 times a week for July and August! We only have to walk half a block to see some of them.

    We have the peak of the heat and humidity coming tomorrow and then storms. Hopefully weather will be back to more normal for us. I miss my really long rides.

  2. AWWWW!!!!! The puppy pictures made me smile. AWWW

Leave a Reply

