• Shop Amazon

Rain and Birds

Ever have one of those days where there’s something fun planned for right after work? You then spend the entire day antsy – staring at the clock, shifting back and forth in your seat, tapping or shaking your foot, distracting yourself with mundane tasks you really don’t want to do – because you just NEED a distraction.

I’m that way just before a week of vacation. Even though I rarely make actual vacation plans, vacation time is precious! (and always needed 😀 )

Today has nothing to do with vacation though. We’re having the home inspection done on the house! I’m really not worried. The house looked so well cared for and Mom & Dad gave it a good check before we made the offer. But, it is just fun to have it all wrapped up in a bow. Plus, this will be the final time we’ll be able to see the house until we close in Sept. I’ll take some pictures of the awesome back yard. Garden, here I come!!!

It rained a bit last night and there was a mad dash of birdies that flew around the yard to check out the worms

Birds everywhere! I felt like I was in a Hitchcock movie

WordPress still hates my vertical pictures and doesn’t flip them. Argh

Where there’s sun and rain – there’s RAINBOWS!

Even better when it’s a double rainbow!

Super bright and gorgeous. Can you make out the second rainbow?

I bought a Taste of Home annual recipe book for inspiration on trying some new things. I found a quick and easy rosemary chicken recipe, so that’s what we made last night.

Just brown some chicken breasts in a little butter

Flip!

These were super-mondo pieces that I ended up cutting in half. Then I pushed them off to the side to stay warm and made the butter sauce

The recipe called for 1/2 cup of whipping cream and I toned it down to 1/2 n 1/2 to cut calories and fat a bit.

Just combine 1/2 cup of the chicken broth with 1/2 cup of the cream, cook until thickened

Then add in 2T of butter and a tablespoon of fresh rosemary. I used 1t dried rosemary

The recipe said to bring to a boil and let thicken but with most milk products, it will curdle and separate a bit when boiled. If I were to do it again, I’d just reduce a bit over medium heat.

We chopped up some locally grown wax beans and cooked rice

And dinner was on the table in 30 minutes. Not bad!

Maybe should have gone with green beans for a more colorful plate?

I asked Ben what he thought of the new recipe. He said the chicken was dry.

When I corrected him about me slicing the chicken in half, etc and that was the chicken and I was more interested in his thoughts about the recipe, he replied “it needed more sauce”.

Ok, so the sauce was good then? Maybe? *men!*

We need to find more quick recipes that don’t include cheese and white sauces though. I just got the registration forms and schedule for the Fall semester so I know things will be crazy once school picks up again. Can’t imagine school AND moving. It’ll definitely be busy!

 

One Response

  1. You should give the chicken and balsamic tomatoes a try. I am not a tomato fan, but I really like it cooked this way.

    Or, a quick sauce is to mix the half and half with tomato sauce to get a creamy red sauce.

    Hope the inspection goes well.

Leave a Reply

