• Shop Amazon

Adjusting Expectations

A week ago today I remember waiting patiently for my chiropractic clinic to open so I could schedule an appointment to review the pain in my back.

Now, a week later, I know more about kidney stones then I ever wished to and I’m still waiting for this all to be over. The good news is that I don’t think anything is blocked or too large that I’ll need some kind of medical intervention. Thank goodness! But the bad news is that I won’t be able to run/walk the Beer Belly 2 mile event I signed up for this Saturday. Major bummer because I had convinced Ben to come along too.

The other concern is over my 5K training. I’m not one of those people who can take a week or two off and jump right back in where I left off. Assuming this all clears up over the weekend (fingers crossed), I can’t just jump back in where I left off. I need to ease back into exercises while my tummy heals.

Goes to show that even with good intentions and a well laid-out plan, things don’t always go the way you want. But there isn’t anything you can do except give your body the time it needs to heal and then get back out there again!

Although… yesterday prolly wouldn’t have been a good jogging day. Would have been a good day for my indoor sauna business though

Ugh?

It’s been windy, hot, and humid the past few days but today’s high is only 81 which may feel like Winter when you compare it to the 95 degree stuff.

But the wind has done damage to my little friend

Hopefully more grow soon!

That wind also somehow managed to whip far into the living room and knock down a VERY heavy rack of DVDs

But after the fiasco with my door blowing through the doorjam, I guess this shouldn’t be too shocking?

I did meet up with my old co-worker for our every-other-month-or-so dinner and catch up. We went to Olive Garden and I went with one of my favorites, the mixed grill

It’s the perfect choice if you’re trying to avoid the carb-heavy pastas.

And, of course leftover peach dump (peach dump sounds so appetizing!!!!! 😉 ha ha ) all packed up and ready to take to work for breakfast.

❤ leftovers

Question of the Day: What’s the worst injury you’ve ever had – or one that’s sidelined an event you’d been planning on?

4 Responses

  1. Hooray for Pepper!

    My worst injury was the herniated disk in my back. I was on crutches for a couple and couldn’t walk because it hurt so bad with the sciatica. That sidelined running for a couple months (back when I used to run). Of course, I still have nerve damage from that, so it’s always a constant reminder…

  2. My worst injury was a broken leg in two different places and a fracture. I was in a wheelchair for 6 months and then crutches for another 4. Cast from toe to hip. Ugh, good thing I was 7!

Leave a Reply

