• Shop Amazon

Holy Ouch

The last few days up in this next of the woods have been prime Ali weather – we’re talking 70s, sunshine, the whole works. It’s been beyond fab and I had fully intended to make the most of it by knocking off my 2nd workout of the week last night…

But it didn’t happen.

We had our company picnic at work today, which is always kind of a sad day for me. It reminds me a lot of my previous job when the company picnic was a huge shin-dig where you brought your whole family to some fun location (the amusement park, the railroad museum, the zoo…) and feasted on fun foods.

Here the company picnic is free lunch with a tent set up outside in case you happen to be so fortunate as to have a group of people to sit next to.

I ate at my desk

To be fair, the burger was really good. The corn was just heated up a bit and not cooked all the way. It ended up in the garbage.

About an hour after eating, I stood up and got this ridiculous shooting pain in my mid back. Normally I’m a lower back pain girl. It stuck with me all day. Ouchie!

So after laying on my back on the floor, twisting and turning trying to see if I could crack my back or do something to ease the pain, I gave up and did what any girl would do if she was in horrible pain and had 3 hours to kill before she could take another dose of ibuprofen…

You bake!

Ben bought a couple containers of strawberries last week and they got lost in the back of the fridge. Time to eat or toss! I chopped them up and tossed them with a few tablespoons of sugar.

Then I went online in search of an easy shortcake recipe that avoided the gnarly ingredients in bisquick (my former go-to ingredient). Luckily there are lots of easy options out there! I used oat flour again to avoid the gluten, decreased salt a touch, added some vanilla and put it in the oven!

Somewhere along in the process I learned I don’t have an 8×8 dish… Whoops! So I used my 8×11 and decreased the cooking time a bit.

After whipping up some whipped cream (lol) and layering all the goodies…

Wa-laa!

They looked really pretty – as strawberry shortcake tends to be

I proudly hobbled over to Ben and placed his piece on his desk with much added drama (the man needs to appreciate the fact I was in pain and still made him shortcake right?).

Ben took one bite… then one more… and then said this was the BEST gluten-free dessert I’d made yet and he gave it the almost unreachable FIVE stars!

Flavors and textures are really a preference thing. Using the oat flour the cake ended up doughier than when using Bisquick. Ben said it tasted “creamy” but I think that’s because the recipe called for whipping cream – which I subbed with half and half. I bet you could use whole or even 2% milk for additional calorie savings though. Might need to try that!

The chiropractic office I go to isn’t open until 11 today (what!?) so I’ll have to hobble into work and cross my fingers and toes they can fit me in sometime today. This is painful.

And I don’t want to think about what baking trouble I’ll get into if I’m in this much pain again tonight!

Ben might though 😉

3 Responses

  1. Hope your back is okay and just a muscle strain. No disk troubles, fingers crossed!

  2. that shortcake texture looks divine!! double NOMs!

  3. I heard on the radio today that today is strawberry shortcake day! How fitting! I hope your back feels better!!

Leave a Reply

