• Shop Amazon

The Search Continues

Yesterday I purchased breakfast at work – a rarity for me. I *love* french toast but we don’t have a griddle yet (not sure why) and when I try the fry pan I just end up burning them.

They make a lot of the french toast here with some kind of banana either fried and laid on top or in this case, stirred into some cream cheese for a stuffing:

The filling may not look very appetizing but it was really good. It’s a new concept but I’d like to try it again sometime.

After work we met up with both sets of our parents to walkthrough the house we liked. It’s interesting how you absorb so much more on a second walkthrough.

There were some really cool things I liked

All the fans in the living room:

The very large deck:

The firepit – almost done:

And the landscaping which needs some TLC but has so much potential:

Sitting on over an acre of property, there would be plenty of room for an ample garden too.

But then you weigh in with all the negatives. Those we knew about, like the fact that the train runs through the backyard and the house has a lot of wear and tear (knicks, scratches, bad counter tops, etc)

A first floor laundry that seemed like more of an afterthought and vented right out by the front door:

 

And things we didn’t see before, like surface mold on the windows (I spared you that pic!), roof shingles that were patched … possibly due to wind damage

And critters who would feast and mock my gardening attempts:

When we hopped back in the car to drive home Ben vetoed the house. I feel kinda bad about it too. Sure there were things that would need repair – but getting a picture perfect house on an acre of property just isn’t going to be in our price range.

Nevertheless, the house search continues.

We stopped for subs on the way home. I can’t recall the last time I had so much white bread:

And they forgot my alfalfa sprouts!!

Oh well, it was still tasty.

The temps were awesome last night and I can cross my first day of 2 minute jogs off the list. Hurray! Although a mental note to myself that walking too late at night and the gnats swarm and fly into my nose and mouth… not ideal. πŸ™‚

Off to work, have a wonderful day!

8 Responses

  1. First, that French toast looks awesome!
    Second, good thing not going with a house showing mold. You really don’t know what you haven’t found that could be really, really expensive to fix.
    Chin up, the perfect home is out there. You have to look in places that might surprise you. πŸ™‚

  2. The train would be a deal breaker for me. We had an apartment right by a train and 3 am every night they blared the horn as is required when going through residential intersections. Ugh!

  3. Wahoooo go you! 2 minute jogs…you go, girl!

  4. They don’t put sprouts on JJ subs anymore. I remember back in Dec or Jan, I got a sub and no sprouts… figured it was just overlooked. Next time hubby went in, they said they discontinued the sprouts. Pretty lame.

Leave a Reply

