• Shop Amazon

I Will Survive….

At first I was afraid
I was petrified
Kept thinking I could never live
With the aches in my side
But then I jogged so many nights
And I kept trekking along
And I grew strong…

OK – I made it through the first day of week 3 – shortening the walking segments from 4 to 3 minutes and adding an additional 1 minute of jogging.

One more minute shouldn’t be so hard, but it is.

Here are my stats:

(You can see the blue spikes during each of the jogging segments but the red is heart rate and it stays consistently high)

I was not really any faster adding in the extra minute. In fact, I was trying very hard to really slow down the jogging sections to see if I would feel better in the end. The problem is my inability to find a good jogging stride.

If I were on the treadmill, I could walk about 3.8 and jog at 4.5 / 4.6 to begin and that’s a really good pace for each. However the slower jog does NOT feel natural on the road and it feels more like an awkward shuffle – yet this 6mph+ speeds I know are killing me.

So I still need to play around with this. I can’t keep beating myself up over it either. I’m slow. I get heavily winded. One minute of slow jogging is killing me. Can’t breathe through my nose. All things I just need to forget about. The main point is that I’m out doing it and it will get better. Right?

I will survive…

A very sweaty me right after last night’s effort:

In a more amusing picture, they set up a photo booth at work for people to get their smile on. Here’s mine with a co-worker:

Good times 🙂

Mom’s trying to do a little family surprise party for my dad’s 55th bithday tomorrow. I’ll be on cake duty tonight. Lots of yummy carrot cake is in my future!!

Happy middle o’ the week!

~A

3 Responses

  1. I LOVE the photo booth shots. How fun. Happy birthday to your Dad.

  2. Why are you trying to breath through your nose when running? I never do that – too hard to get in enough air. I also agree that 6+ mph is too fast when you are initially training. Go ahead and shuffle along – no harm in that 😀

    • This is my inexperience shining through! I was told if you breathe in and out through your mouth, you dehydrate much faster and that I need to learn to regulate breathing in through my mouth and out through my nose. I have no clue what to do anymore and allergies aren’t helping. Need to do a few more google searches on breathing I think.

Leave a Reply

