• Shop Amazon

Recipe: Breakfast Casserole

Alex would be the perfect lunchtime blogger because he’s concise and gets straight to the point. I asked him to give me a little ‘first-hand runner insight’ on the Cellcom and his reply was “I wasn’t a fan of the heat”.

Alex crossing the finish line:

Last year Alex did some training with a coach who he met during the annual 5K run/walk he and I do each year to support his school. She’s so wonderful and they met up after the 1/2 marathon to give each other high 5’s. She medaled in the 1/2!

I know I promised you all a new recipe and I have a great one for you today. Here is my grandma’s recipe for what she calls “Breakfast Casserole”. It’s a great comfort food in our family and often is served on Christmas morning. The best part is that it takes almost no time to whip together – and Ben gives it the rare 5 stars.

BREAKFAST CASSEROLE

Grease a 13×9 pan and line the bottom with torn pieces of bread.

Brown 1 lb of sausage

Layer the sausage over the bread

Sprinkle 1 cup of cheddar cheese over the top

In a bowl combine 6 eggs, 2 cups milk, 1/4 t salt, and 1/8t pepper (the recipe called for 1/2t salt but we both limit salt and thought it seemed a touch salty to us.) Adjust as you see fit!

Pour the egg mixture evenly over the bread

Pop into a preheated 350 degree oven for 35 minutes

Wa-laa!

Seriously easy, yummy, and you can add/modify as you see fit. I’ve removed the sausage and made a veggie casserole. I’ve used bacon instead of sausage. It all works.

It’s called breakfast casserole but Ben and I ate it for dinner last night 🙂

Tomorrow I’ll update on my weight loss, mileage, and 5K training. Lots of interesting info now that I’m kicking off week 3!

Have a Happy Monday!

2 Responses

  1. Fun post. Yay for Alex and the casserole recipe. Have a great week Ali.

  2. That does look pretty tasty! I love breakfast stuff for dinner.

Leave a Reply

