• Shop Amazon

Swords and Caffeine

Yesterday was day one of the ‘no caffeine’ week at work’s survival challenge. It’s definitely the hardest one for me – hands down. I won’t mince words, this is hard for me. I’ve been making decaf in the mornings more for the mental pick-me-up but last night I was ready to slam a few cups back. Instead I took a couple ibuprofen and tried to think of other things. I know it’s probably really good for me to take a little break from the caffeine but wow is the withdrawal hard! Can’t imagine what it’s like for people who drink MORE than my standard 2 cups a day. –ouch–

Ben’s folks were out of town this past weekend so we spent Mother’s Day over with my folks. I will never turn down the chance to grill out – it’s so hard to do in my apartment situation.

Mom & Dad manned the grill

Hailey demonstrated her barrel rolls into people’s laps. She doesn’t mind rolling into your lap and sitting upside down, it’s pretty funny.

She’s also figured out ‘sit’, ‘shake’, ‘lay down’ and is working on ‘stay’ – which mom says works when she’s being bribed with treats 🙂

Steak, burgers, potatoes, broccoli & cauliflower, mushrooms and onions. Yum!

They gave all the moms flowers at church which I thought was really sweet.

We’re in the tail-end of Lily of the Valley season here. I LOVE the smell so when I saw mom’s bouquet I rushed outside to grab my own bunch too.

They seriously smell amazing. Ah May Zing

Last night I started week 2 of my 5K training plan. It was 4 min of walking and 1 min of jogging, repeated 4 times for 20 min total. People, I’m out of shape! Those minutes of running felt like they lasted way too long. 🙂 I do think I need to slow down my already slow jogging even more and see if I can do better.

Last night’s numbers were

Time: 21:11

Distance: 1.38 mi

Calories Burned: 379

Thank you Garmin 😉 I’ll be updating my training page as I go too. Can’t wait to see how I do this year.

 

So… I have a funny(?) story for you. Last night it was warm, so I opened all the windows and the porch door (I’m on the 2nd floor) to try and cool the apartment down a bit. One of the guys in the apartment next door had some friends over and they were out smoking, laughing, and chatting when I went to bed at 10… still there when they woke me up at 11, 11:30, 12:15… I also would hear some random clanking noises – typical with my metal blinds when the wind blows and then they smack back into the glass – so I got up to shut the porch and all the windows.

Woke up again at 1:00am and finally again at 2am when I heard more clanking. I assumed Ben had gotten warm and re-opened the windows so I got up, found the clunky box fan, and was getting it set up when I noticed the windows were all still closed…

*clank, clank, clank*

I looked out and noticed my neighbor and one of his friends were sword fighting right under our apartment windows. That’s right, sword fighting. I opened the porch, and calmly stated that it was 2am, I get up at 5:30am, and would they be wrapping it up soon? To their credit they immediately apologized and dashed inside.

Sword fighting at 2am?? Really?

Generally I just turn on fans and try to ignore outside laughing and chatter but I kinda had to say something on that one. Maybe now I’ll get a few nights of peace and quiet? Doesn’t help that I’m cranky with no caffeine 🙂

In other totally non-related news, when I got back from my run/walk last night, I got a bloody nose. Not something that happens often, at all. Almost never. Then again, this morning I had another one. I’m inclined to say it’s the withdrawal side effect (ha!) but more likely it’s a vitamin deficiency so I’m going to stick with vitamins and get some iron in today as well (broccoli for dinner tonight I think!).

When’s the last time you got a bloody nose? Ever witnessed sword fighting in your neighborhoos?

 

 

 

 

 

 

A

2 Responses

  1. Hailey is getting big!! I love lily of the valley, too. Did you know that if you put them in colored water it will make little color stripes in the flower after a few days? I don’t get bloody noses often. One time I got punched in the nose on accident and that did it. The other time was a few years ago and it was dry winter and it just started running blood. That was weird.

    Good luck with the no caffeine – scary!!

  2. Hahaha swordfighting! That must have new a sight to see!

Leave a Reply

