• Shop Amazon

Recipe: Fiesta Pasta

I’m excited to share a recipe with you today! Not only does this dish taste fantastic, it’s absolutely loaded with colorful veggies – perfect for people (like me) who are trying to up their veggie intake!

I started by browning a pound of ground chicken. While that was cooking away, I chopped up a large head of broccoli, 2 peppers, and a zucchini. I’m not a cooked tomato or mushroom fan, but I bet lots of people would like those additions too. Whatever veggies work for you!

Chop chop!

All ready to go!

Once your veggies are chopped, drop a box of pasta (I used quinoa rotelle) into lightly salted boiling water.

Time to make some white sauce!

My typical white sauce is 4T of butter, 4T of flour (white rice flour works for gf folks), and 2 1/4 c milk. Melt your butter over medium heat, once it starts bubbling, add in the flour and wisk until the flour browns. Slowly incorporate a little milk at a time and stir until all the lumps are gone and your sauce thickens. Add some salt and pepper to taste. Add 1/2 parmesan cheese and 1t of Italian seasoning and stir until melted.

With your pasta almost done, toss all your veggies into the boiling water to soften them up just a touch. You can leave out this step, but your veggies will be more al dente.

Drain!

Pour your cheese sauce over the chicken,  pasta, and veggies and stir to combine. Pour into a greased 13×9″ pan and sprinkle with your favorite cheese (I used cheddar).

Cook at 350 for 20-25 min or until veggies are tender.

This made a BIG dish – lots of leftovers for us!! Even Ben liked this, which is unusual since it had so many veggies. I had Ben handle cooking the chicken and the pasta and I chopped the veggies and made the white sauce, so the dish came together pretty quickly. Definitely will make again. Ben gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

Vegetarian? Just leave out the chicken.

Yum!!

I officially started my first day of 5K training. I went for my 20 min walk last night. I couldn’t find my heart rate monitor so I am not sure exactly how far I went or how many calories I burned, but let’s say conservatively I walked 3m/hr pace – that’s one more mile to add to the officially tally.

Tonight I’m off to watch Alex’s graduation. Should be fun!

One Response

  1. I wonder how chickpeas would be in place of the chicken. Not that I am a vegetarian, but that might be a good option to keep the bulk up in this dish.

Leave a Reply

