• Shop Amazon

Welcome May … and Muffins

You blink your eye and a 1/3 of the year is already gone. We always marvel because it’s true: life is short – make it count!

With the start of May, I’m all set for a great next few months. With the move all behind us (for now) it’s time to get back to concentrating on some yearly goals. I’ve been eating pretty bad lately and my weight jumped up a little over 3 pounds. Now’s the time to put a serious dent in my weight loss and exercise goals.

Ben is joining the Y near his office so he can work out over lunch with his co-workers. I think that will work great for him. I can’t help but wish I was still at my old job because the Planet Fitness was 2 blocks away (and we had an hour lunch break). There’s a gym here at work, but it’s hard to get much of a workout done in 30 min and still have time to change and shower if necessary. Maybe I need to just stay after work a couple days a week?

I had another grounds-in-my-coffee incident this morning and ended up buying coffee at work

They have free coffee but for whatever reason, it’s horribly vile stuff. So I’ll shell out $2 for some cinnamon or french vanilla flavored coffee. I need my coffee 🙂

Has anyone watched the documentary Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead? It’s about a guy who was overweight and had some health issues and began a juice fast and lost a ton of weight and inspired a very large truck driver to turn his life around too. I’d love to be able to try a juice fast but it isn’t realistic when you work all day. We did buy the ingredients to make some of the green juice they use in the documentary to see if we even like it. Should be a fun weekend project!

I’m on Day 2 of this week’s work survivor challenge: no sweets. I’m doing OK but I could really use some chocolate! I tried making some muffins last night that I could bring in for breakfast.

This is one of those times where you throw stuff into a bowl, give it a stir, and see what you end up with. The main ingredients here were oat flour, gf-oats, flax meal, chia seeds, cinnamon, stevia, milk, blackberries, baking soda, baking powder, and eggs.

They reminded me a lot of the 1 minute muffin, so I mixed up a little coconut milk, cream cheese, and vanilla to swirl into them

Layer, layer!

Popped into the oven at 350 for 15 minutes

They smelled so good!

More moist than the 1 minute muffin – but similar – so I bet if you made the 1 minute muffins in the oven, you’d want to decrease the cooking time just a bit and it should be fine.

They’re a little stickier than I’d like – maybe next time I’d add more oat flour. But it was a fun change of pace for this week

Tonight I’m sitting down to work out some goals for the next few months. Time to get walking again so I can be ready for my September annual race.

Have a wonderful May Day!

4 Responses

  1. Isn’t this year just flying by?! And those muffins looks great 🙂

  2. YUM! Love the amazing ingredients that make an amazing dish!

  3. Thumbs up for Starbucks! I’d be missing a lot of money if we had a Starbucks on my way to work. Good thing!
    Those muffins look so good.

  4. I saw that documentary. I kind of liked it, but then it just started to seem like a pitch for juicers. I could never do a juice fast for that long. I need my protein!

Leave a Reply

