• Shop Amazon

Cold and Wet

It’s overcast, rainy, windy, and chilly today.

But April is supposed to have lots of showers, right?

My amazing plan was to tackle the spare bedroom and have it totally ready last night. But then I got lured into reading the Hunger Games (anyone else read it?) and ended up only managing to sort and store 5 boxes, dust the dresser and hutch, and vacuum. But there’s not much left in there – just a few odds and ends that should be easy enough to clean tonight. Then I’ll finish with the carpet steamer to kill any allergens.

Remember before?

We’re now looking at:

Progress right?

Not sure what to do with the TV and my old DVD player. Thought I’d throw it on craigslist and see if anyone could use a spare for a camper or whatnot. Easier than paying Best Buy to dispose of it for me.

The Hunger Games was enjoyed with a large bowl of buttered popcorn:

Ben’s not a popcorn fan so I don’t make it much but I do love it. It’s total comfort food for me.

Last weekend Ben rearranged the furniture in the living room and I am using the extra space to sort my piles of Rummage Sale, GoodWill, and Recycle Paper.

It’ll be cozy but cute.

I’m totally rocking this week’s sodium challenge. Each day they share some tidbit about the weekly challenge and I’ll share today’s with you:

Reason #3: Besides affecting blood pressure, eating too much salt increases your risk of stomach cancer.

Tip: Most sodium comes from processed foods and restaurant foods. Read labels on processed foods. If you are going to eat out, balance the rest of the day with little or no sodium. A rack of baby back ribs from a restaurant can have over 20,000 mg of sodium. Thatโ€™s about 10 teaspoons of salt. If you wake up the next morning and your fingers feel puffy, there was probably a lot of sodium in your food.

I’m going out to dinner tonight so I’m watching to have as little sodium as possible. My sugar snap peas have trace amounts and my Greek yogurt has a bit too. I just write it down. Luckily restaurants are getting better about listing calories / fat / sodium for certain menu items. And I’ll avoid the baby back ribs ๐Ÿ˜‰

Speaking of eats, here’s a pic of the breakfast / lunch norm around Ali World:

Strawberries and sugar snap peas. Strawberries seem to be on major sales lately so I’ve been eating more of them lately but I don’t like them in yogurt so I just munch on them straight out of the bag.

Looks like a busy day of meetings in store at work but then fun dinner plans with my friend Renee! Looking forward to it!

8 Responses

  1. I enjoyed the Hunger Games. A very, very fast read. And waaaaaaay better than Twilight.

    • It is a super-fast read. I never read the Twilight books but have seen the movies because a girlfriend is really into them. I decided to try and read the first HG book and see if I liked it before going to see the movie. Usually I skip the book and head right to the movie so we’ll see how this works out.

  2. Those snacks look delicious. I love strawberries and can eat them in massive quantities. I’m also thinking about planting peas in my garden this year.

  3. Hunger Games took away from so much of productivity! It was like I shouldn’t even bother trying to do anything until I finished reading all three of them!!

    • Funny you should say that… my co-worker lent me a copy of the 2nd book before I finished the 1st and I’ve told her she has to keep book 3 away until after the move because NOTHING is getting done!!

  4. lol I am going to be one of the few people on this planet that won’t watch or read the hunger games. I didn’t watch or read harry potter or LOTR either. I’m weird like that.

    Some fresh strawberries sound so good right now!

    • I’m weird like that too. I wouldn’t touch any of the Harry Potter books just because everyone was too into them at the time. Now I just have no interest. I think I picked the Hunger Games up because I didn’t really realize it was huge like Twilight or Harry Potter and I’m enjoying it surprisingly!

Leave a Reply

