• Shop Amazon

Survivor Challenge

The past several years the company I work for puts on a Spring “Biggest Loser” challenge. Teams of 4 have 12 weeks to try to lose the biggest percentage of body weight. The winners are always the teams that have two particular guys – because somehow each year they lose the most and then gain it back to lose again.

I’m a huge fan of these 12 week team challenges though because I do better when I don’t want to let my team down. In fact, my most significant Summer of health and weight loss was the first year I did Biggest Loser – back in 2007. We were on a team of three and I did anywhere from 60 to 180 minutes of exercise a day. I was crazy but the more I exercised, the more I wanted to. I didn’t want to sit around and waste a chance to burn some calories and work hard for my team. Our team came in 2nd 🙂

This year the office is doing something a little different – a ‘Survivor Challenge’. Teams of 4 are given a Mon-Fri task each week and if they succeed, they move onto the next week. This is different because the focus is more on health and well-being rather than just strict weight-loss.

I’ll be posting about each weekly challenge so if anyone is looking for just a little something extra to motivate them each week, feel free to play along from home!

Welcome to the Survivor Challenge…..

Your team’s first weekly challenge (starting Monday 4/2) will be:

Eat at least 5 servings of fruits and vegetables each day

**Each weekly challenge is for the ‘work–week’ (Monday through Friday) all day! Saturday and Sunday are fair game.

 —

Today is my brother Matthew’s 27th birthday. The plan is to pick him and Alex up around 4 and go out for a free birthday drink and dinner. We did this with Alex last September and they had a great time.

This morning I made the 2.5 minute muffin (bigger takes longer to cook!) and used half flax meal and half oat flour. Then I made a peanut butter cream cheese frosting for the top. Mmm peanut butter!!

I’m freaking out just a bit today because my schedule is packed. I have 3 school assignments due on Monday and Ben wants to start bringing things over this weekend (where will they fit!?) so major purging and productivity needs to happen. Fingers crossed!

Oh, and have a WONDERFUL Friday 🙂

2 Responses

  1. I can usually just squeak in 5 servings of fruits and veggies a day – if I count pumpkin as a veggie! If it could be all fruit, I would be totally covered. Hooray for Friday!

  2. Love the Survivor challenge! Sounds fun. Happy Birthday to your brother!!!!

Leave a Reply

