• Shop Amazon

The Countdown

What a busy 24 hours! The home inspection is scheduled for Monday. There’s a girl who sits one aisle over from me who just sold her house (it’s a LOT newer) and the inspector came back with $4K in fixes the buyer wants covered. Holy cow – I am a bit nervous about what will happen with Ben’s inspection now!

In the meantime, with less than 30 days until closing, we have to assume it will go through and be fine – otherwise there isn’t a lot of time to whip things together. we can’t find storage units anywhere. Each place we call is full! Ben has a couple of appts for financing set up so we can look for the best rates. I talked to my landlady and we can add Ben to my lease without needing to sign a year contract. Yay!!

In the meantime we’ve been browsing current for sale listings to see if anything is jumping out at us.

And I’ve yet to begin purging – but heck, I was in class last night. 🙂

And yes, I am stalling even thinking about all the work I’ll need to do…

Classes are winding up and I am very thankful. I am looking forward to knocking things out of the way and focusing on moving Ben.

As you know, I’ve been living the 1 minute muffin breakfast bandwagon for a while but last night I decided to go back to another favorite:

Semi overnight oats!

I’m not a fan of cold oatmeal, so I’ve never been able to handle the true  overnight oat mentality. What I prefer is to soak steel cut oats overnight so they are soft in the morning and cook more quickly.

Morning soaking:

1/2 cup of steel cut oats

1 cup of water

1/2 c of almond milk

chia seeds and flax seeds

Then I just do a slow simmer for 10 minutes on the stove, stir in a little coconut milk, and top with my favorite toppings. Today it was some maple peanut butter. Mmmm

I was shopping last weekend and found mini cans of coconut milk. Is it weird that I was super excited? A large can takes me a while to get through and a half-sized can is perfect for me!

I also picked up some new oil to try. I’ve been switching over to olive and coconut for most things but I’m now thinking of switching the olive oil for grapeseed oil.

I like the health stats on this.

So I’ll try it out and see how it compares. It’s always fun to try new things.

With no classes tonight, the plan is to work out a to-do list and come up with all the remaining school tasks, moving tasks, etc that we need to get done.

April is shaping up to be a crazy busy month!

2 Responses

  1. One thing with inspections – Ben had a good playing card in that he didn’t counter a low offer. Just because a buyer asks for things doesn’t mean the seller has to pay for them. We have bought and sold several houses and everything is always up for negotiation!

    • Good point! I’m thinking unless something horrible pops up on the inspection, we’ll prolly just tell them that because we didn’t counter they need to take the house as-is. I’m not going to be happy if they’re nickle and diming us for tiny repairs – especially considering all the stuff we did prior to listing!

Leave a Reply

