• Shop Amazon

Recipe: Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Well… the car appointment was made for tomorrow. Today it started right up without an issue. Very confusing. I’m worried they will need it for an extended period of time and will find nothing to fix. After work today Ben will pick me up and then he’ll be my chauffeur for the next few days – bringing me to work and then back home after. Poor guy šŸ™‚

I did something totally uncharacteristic for me. Are you ready for this? I skipped class last night. I know – I’m such a rebel! When my car went wonkers I was up until midnight contemplating my options and feeling generally stressed and annoyed. When my alarm went off at 5:30 – my body was NOT happy. There was no way I was going to be able to sit through class without dozing off. Luckily I can do the discussion questions online and still get credit as if I were there. And next week is Spring Break. ā¤ love!

Last night Ben and I went out for dinner … and I committed a cardinal blog sin and left my camera at home. Dinner was a lemon pepper chicken breast with a side salad (veggies!) and french fries. The chicken reminded me of a recipe I tried last week but hadn’t posted yet. Here we go!

Easy Cheesy Stuffed Chicken Breasts

These are super quick to whip together and less putsy than flattening the chicken and filling with a bunch of stuff.

Start with cheese. I went with garlic & herb laughing cow and used one wedge per chicken breast

Then you’ll need a small bag of slivered almonds. Just toss them into a skillet on med-low heat and toast until slightly browned. They cook nicely while you’re prepping the chicken!

Mash up the cheese so it’s smooth. I added just a tiny splash of milk and some parsley and oregano

Take the fat part of the breast and slice across the middle – forming a pocket. stuff the cheese mixture into the pocket and pack in some of those delicious almonds. Sprinkle with some more parsley, salt, and pepper – whatever you like!

Cook covered in an oiled skillet for 5-10 minutes on each side, depending on thickness.

Top with the rest of your almonds and feast! (please note the veggie on the plate!)

Ben said the almonds made the dish and the crunch was really outstanding. It’s pretty simple to make and a little different from our normal eats. Win-Win.

Tonight I’m hoping to begin tackling my 2nd March goal – to get back into the gym. The bags are packed and I’m not backing down tonight!

6 Responses

  1. I love Laughing Cow cheese — also great for snacking in those little portions. šŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing this!

  2. That looks really delicious. I’ve never tried stuffing chicken breasts before because it *sounds* complicated.

    • I’m with you – it always looked difficult to me too! In truth, the hardest part IS cutting the breasts. But I blotted with paper towels to make them easier to handle first and my cuts were not perfect by any means… so you don’t need to be perfectly accurate. I’ve heard some people use toothpicks to hold the chicken closed but I didn’t need that, prolly depends on the amount of filling you put in?

  3. Broccoli! Yay!!!

    Those look yummy. I toast my nuts in the microwave. It takes about a minute or so. I tend to forget and burn them on the stovetop šŸ˜€

  4. Oh yum. We don’t get the flavoured light laughing cow cheeses up here in Canada, just the plain ones. (though we can get flavoured “non light” ones) SOOO….this makes me want to grab my passport, drive over the border and buy some!!!! šŸ™‚ Take care Ali!!

Leave a Reply

