• Shop Amazon

Grilling Indoors

Ahh.. what a great weekend. I’m in an unusually cheerful mood this morning. Normally I’m not much of a morning/Monday person (read: HATE Mondays) but I wonder if it’s the combo of February almost being over and the days getting a wee bit longer?

It’s still really cold and will be for the next month+ but we’ve been so blessed with mild weather. It snowed a bit Friday night and I drove over and helped Ben shovel his driveway, but by noon the roads and sidewalks were perfectly clear once more. Love, love it!

It was also really nice that I didn’t have to wake up at 4:30am to swing over, pick up Ben, and drop him off at the airport. He’s home for at least two weeks! (He’s only been home ONE week this entire year!)

So we were busy getting back into our usual weekend routines – like breakfast at our favorite place:

I ordered bacon and ‘donated’ half to Ben for a piece of his sausage. Normally I don’t get scrambled eggs but these were wonderfully light and fluffy

Then we waited in line for 15 min for this experience:

Yay! Nice to have Ben home 🙂

Am I the only person that gets excited about car washes? Some of the goop they put on smells wonderful and even though cars don’t stay clean long up here, it’s still fun.

We’ve been formulating our approach for re-listing Ben’s house again. It is such a terrible market but we’re hoping it will sell fast so we can regroup and start saving back up again. Now we just need to finalize with a realtor and get cracking!

Last night I tried something I’ve wanted to do for a while – cook steak inside! Apartment living isn’t conducive for grilling but I’ve seen a few cooking shows and decided to cook my steak in the oven. *such a rebel*

Started by seasoning my beef and searing on all sides

Top each piece with a bit of butter and pop into the oven at 350 for 20 minutes!

Once you pull it out, cover with foil and let the meat rest. This is vital for locking those juices inside!

Perfectly cooked meat

Normally I eat my steak a bit more medium-well and this came out a perfectly done medium (picture below makes it look less pink than it was). A meat thermometer would also work really well.

Very tasty and fancy for my Sunday night fare. Even better? I have plenty of leftovers for lunch today and tomorrow! Score!

Happy Monday everyone!

2 Responses

  1. I have always loved car washes. Glad I am not the only one!

  2. I LOVE car washes too!!!! I thought I was unique…seems not. Have a great week Ali!!!!!

Leave a Reply

