• Shop Amazon

Workout Spotlight: Dance Dance Revolution

I am so excited about my post for today! I’ve been wanting to do reviews on different exercise DVDs and things that I try (but I’ve been a slacker lately on the exercise bandwagon) and today is a fitting first spotlight!

My younger brother Matt was given Dance Dance Revolution (DDR) as a birthday gift a long time ago and it quickly became my favorite “game” of choice.

So, what is it?

 

DDR is played through a gaming console (like Playstation 2 or 3, Wii, xBox). You just set up the DDR mat, stick in the game, and you’re ready to go.

The mats are set up with 4 directional arrows. as a song is played, the arrows scroll on the screen. You tap the correct arrow (or arrows) with your feet to score points and win.

I’ve “permanently” borrowed Matt’s Playstation 2 now that he’s busy with the Wii and xBox. I have quite the assortment of DDR games.

The first game I ever tried was Dance Dance Revolution Extreme but my favorite is Dance Dance Revolution Extreme 2. Both are awesome though.

PROS:

– Different levels of difficulty so you can ease into it.

– Easy to do at home!

– Different things to try in the game, and even workout modes or “endless” where you play continuously until you’ve had enough.

– It’s a riot and you can get 2 mats to play with two people at the same time (even at different levels)

 

CONS:

– Expensive if you don’t already have a gaming console

– Can be tricky / difficult if you can’t keep a beat

– In the beginning, the easy levels don’t make you sweat very much

 

A lot of bowling alleys will have the metal versions set up so you can give it a try. Personally I find them a LOT harder on the fast songs because you can’t scoot your foot across the mat as easily on the metal boards.

And if you want to see some ‘professionals’ here’s a quick youtube video:

 

Have you ever tried DDR? What did you think?

2 Responses

  1. This has always looked fun. I thought about getting this, but just never got around to it.

  2. How fun. I have Wii “Just Dance” and it’s a blast. I have to be careful when I use it though, because we live in a condo and have neighbors below us. 🙂 Have a great Tuesday Ali.

Leave a Reply

