• Shop Amazon

Thanksgiving Catch-Up

Right now I am cuddled in my heated blanket wearing a sweater, two pairs of pants, and two pairs of socks.

Sounds toasty doesn’t it?

Well… it’s 59 degrees in my apartment. When I woke up this morning it was 68 – which is a touch low – but I didn’t think anything of it. When I got back tonight it was 59 and it’s too late to call anyone and expect them to show up and fix it. So I am making due for the night in the cold.

It’s the end of a nice, long weekend. It was awesome. Ben found a fun new game and we got Matt to play along with us. We’ve spent lots of hours on Skype chatting away while building our little houses and castles.

Oh yes, and I finally got to try the eggnog pancakes I’ve been dying to try since I saw them come out.

 

They were drizzled with a butter rum kind of glaze. Ben said they were too sweet. I thought they were good but I liked the pumpkin pancakes better. And just for balance, I had some protein too.

 

As you know, I spent Thanksgiving at Ben’s parents’ house and we went to my parent’s on Friday. Here’s a few shots

 

The whole gang was there including Dan’s girlfriend and her girls. Great to see everyone and SO thankful mom has a big table!!

 

And after all my various tries, I am happy to report I showed up with a 5 star pumpkin pie!

 

I combined several different recipes and ended up with a lovely, light cheesecake.

 

Definitely NOT health food but oh-so-yummy!

I made a sour cream topping and my best ever gluten-free crust!

 

Very glad it came out so well!!

 

Now my hands are officially numb. Time to go warm them under the faucet.

 

4 Responses

  1. Hope you get the heat fixed soon. At least you can stay somewhat warm and not in a stand alone house where it could get super cold without the heat.

    That cheesecake looks fantastic, too!

  2. Oh, I hate it when the heat goes off! I cannot stand the cold! It’s just too much for me!!!

  3. Grrr….sorry to hear about the heat (or lack thereof). Hopefully all is back to normal by now! Take care Ali.

Leave a Reply

