• Shop Amazon

Recipe: Chicken Scampi

First off, thanks to all of you for your sweet comments yesterday! This steroid mess is definitely a nightmare but after talking to the nurse in the office yesterday, it seems like since I’m at the 1/2 way point I need to stick it out to see the benefit (no way I want to start all over later on!). Just need to hang in there and figure out what to do with the weight after.

After a momentary breakdown, sob-fest, and overall pity party, I needed to make some dinner. Ironic right? Without further ado, I present to you:

 

CHICKEN SCAMPI!

I ordered this dish at Olive Garden once and it was fantastic but looked easy to re-create. I thought I would give it a try and see what Ben thought.

1/2 stick of butter and 5 garlic cloves into a frying pan. Soften up the garlic and cook until the butter is golden.

Dump in a carton of chicken broth, 1 T Italian Seasoning, salt & pepper and let it SIMMER (See that was easy right?)

While that’s cooking away, time to make the thickening sauce. Generally when making a white sauce, you use a ratio of 1:2 for butter and flour. I used 2T butter and 4T of flour. I find that if you only make a teeny amount, it’s actually harder to work with because it cooks so much quicker and increases the chance of lumps and bumps.

Melt your butter and then add the flour and stir like a crazy person. Then just cook and stir until your flour turns golden. This process removes the uncooked white flour taste. Add salt and pepper. Then stir in 1c of milk. Another trick here is to just add a bit of milk at a time, wisk until combined, and then add more. This will also help give you a smooth sauce.

See? Perfect!

Now here’s where you can play a bit. Stir the white sauce into the broth. You may not need all of it. The more white sauce you add, the thicker the end result (and lighter color too). I like my sauce to simmer and reduce a while so I probably used 1/2c of white sauce but added some extra water 1/2 way through the simmer process. It’s just sauce, you can experiment!

Slice up your veggies – I used red and green peppers and red onions for fun colors

I also wanted to give my chicken a little extra something-something and made a quick coating of flour, parmesan, salt, pepper, and italian seasoning

Coat chicken and cook until almost done on each side.

You can even cook the veggies with the chicken. You want to soften the veggies up before putting them in your sauce.

Check out the golden deliciousness on these chicken breasts! You could eat them as-is!!

Sorry I didn’t have a better “final” product. The nighttime lighting is quite an issue. I put my almost cooked chicken back in the sauce, cover, and let simmer until the chicken has cooked through. Then make your favorite pasta and layer the chicken and sauce on top.

Delicious!

4.5 stars on the Ben scale ( and let me tell you, that’s impressive!)

2 Responses

  1. Ooohhh looks good. I’m making shrimp scampi for the first time on Thanksgiving for our friends mother. I bet the chicken version would be even more popular but …the lady is 90 years old, at this point, she gets what SHE wants. 🙂

  2. Great looking dinner Ali. Sending a BIG hug your way!! Take care.

Leave a Reply

