• Shop Amazon

Raspberry Crepes (GF & SF)

I love vacation. If it were up to me, I’d be on vacation one week a month. 🙂

Today, for whatever reason, I felt like trying my hand at making crepes. Back in college, one of my roomies and a great friend had a crepe maker and we made our own. That was the first time I ever had them. I remember lots of giggling and laughing so hard we couldn’t make them without them falling all apart. Good times.

This time I tried to make them gluten-free and sugar-free. The best part is my batter was totally sugar-free!

Melt 1T butter and add an egg, 1/2c almond milk (or regular milk is fine), a pinch of salt and mix, mix mix!

Melt a teaspoon or two of coconut oil in a non-stick cookpan.

While that melts, in a separate bowl mix 1/4c cream cheese, 1/c4 Greek yogurt (I used 0% Fage), 5 drops of liquid Stevia (more or less to taste), and a splash of vanilla. Add almond milk, 1 T at a time until desired consistency

Add 1/2c of gluten-free baking flour and combine

If you’re planning on making crepes for company, you should measure the batter so the crepes are uniform in size. I recommend using a 1/4 c – which will give you 4 crepes

Pour batter into a HOT frying pan. For thinner crepes, use a larger pan and slide the batter around. For a thicker crepe, use a smaller pan and just let the batter naturally spread out, as shown below:

Watch these crepes like a hawk. They are thin and don’t take long to cook! Once they begin bubbling in the center, carefully flip it over. I use a fork to assist my spatula

Depending on the thickness and amount of oil, your crepe can have different looks and consistencies, shown below I did one with more oil and less batter more spread out (thinner & smoother result) and the other is thicker with less oil

Once your crepes are all made (they don’t take long so you can wait to fill them until you have them all cooked), start with one end and spread out your filling

Layer on some fruit!

Roll up!

Top with leftover filling and berries

And enjoy!!

I made 4 crepes with this recipe and they were filling! I think 2 per person is plenty unless you are really hungry. Also, next time I think I would chop up or slightly mash the raspberries so they were in every bite.

Please note you can use regular flour in place of the gluten-free flour. It will have a lighter texture. Gluten-free is definitely chewier.

These were so much fun to make. I feel slightly French now. Au revoir!

2 Responses

  1. These look delicious! I tried crepes with coconut flour and they turned out pretty good, although not super thin. If we lived closer to each other, could you imagine the trouble we would get up to in the kitchen?

Leave a Reply

