• Shop Amazon

Pumpkin Cheesecake (SF & GF) 1st Attempt

Happy Friday everyone!

Today’s blog post is one I’ve been meaning to post about for a couple days but with my crazy schedule, it got pushed until today. But first, a little background…

Ben and I started dating in Dec of ’09. Since we were only 2 weeks into our relationship, when Christmas rolled around we decided not to exchange gifts or even spend the day together. We thought that was better than trying to figure out what to get, how much to spend, and neither knew the other person’s family so at that point, it seemed easier to do our own thing.

Fast forward to 2010 and we did not spend Thanksgiving together – something that, at that stage, greatly annoyed me. Ben vowed Christmas would be together and we spent that day hopping from house to house to spend time with everyone.

This Thanksgiving we are spending together. Yay! Of course, being the polite girl I am (or try to be) I offered to bring something. I am now in charge of a dessert! While I couldn’t be more pleased, this is probably the hardest thing to make. Ben’s brother is diabetic, his father was recently diagnosed with heart disease AND if I bring something to Ben’s folks, I’m thinking I should bake two and have something for my family too.

Whew, long lead up. I’m looking at making a pumpkin cheesecake. With no sugar. And no gluten. And have it taste edible for very picky people.

After scouring recipes I doctored up my first attempt. This recipe has two layers and used the NuNaturals more fiber baking blend.

Ben is my official photographer and took 42 pictures of the process (why???) so I condensed into those that I thought were most valuable!

Ingredient time! Pumpkin, spices, cream cheese, eggs, nuts, butter, and vanilla.

Mixing 2 packages of cream cheese, 2 eggs, 1/2c of the Stevia blend, 1t of vanilla, and 3T of almond milk

Smile! I’m making cheesecake!!

Melt butter and mix into chopped nuts. The butter was my attempt to help the base “glue” together without added sugar.

Pour half of the cream cheese into a springform pan

Combine the pumpkin, cloves, cinnamon, and nutmeg with the remaining cream cheese

This is what you find when your boyfriend is taking pictures:

Spread the pumpkin layer over the cream cheese layer carefully!

All ready to pop into the oven!

Prepare a waterbath (simple fill a pan with a couple inches of warm water and put the springform pan inside). This helps prevent those unsightly cracks in your cheesecake by increasing the moisture levels in the oven.

325 degrees for 50 minutes and you get this lovely result…

A side look at the layers after they cooled in the fridge for 2 hours

All served up with a dollop of homemade whipped cream.

 

Verdict: B+

I think I can do better here. The flavor with the Stevia wasn’t terrible but it wasn’t great either and the more fiber is thicker than regular sugar resulting in a heavier piece. I want something lighter and fluffier.

I also wasn’t pleased that my nuts kinda scattered all over the place. I think this was also due to having a thicker batter to work with.

So stay tuned, we have several weeks until Thanksgiving and I WILL come up with the perfect sugar-free, gluten-free, pumpkin cheesecake before then!

3 Responses

  1. Wow…for a first attempt, this looks pretty darn good. And…your cat’s layers are the same colors as the layers of the cheesecake. 🙂 Have a good Friday.

  2. I wonder if you separated the eggs and whipped the whites to soft peaks and folded into the cheesecake batter if it would make it fluffier and lighter? More like a souffle then.

Leave a Reply

