• Shop Amazon

Caramel Apples

Another super Fall day. It sprinkled a bit early this morning but then there was sunshine and it was awesome. Love Fall days like this!

Ben came over to grab me this morning and the original plan was for me to make more oatmeal and then head back to the orchard for more caramel apple cookies. But once we began talking about my disgust with their pesticides (not to mention the price of a cookie) we decided to see if IHop had their pumpkin pancakes yet. Irony? You bet, I have no doubt IHop food is laden with pesticides. Except I expect that from IHop, I don’t with my local orchard.

Sadly enough pumpkin pancakes have not yet arrived, and I still had a hankering for caramel apples… So I ordered a single caramel apple crepe with an egg and some hash browns with onions tossed in.

It was just so-so. Kind of disappointing and the granola on the top just tasted more like chewy oats.

The hash browns, on the other hand, were wonderful. I love it when they have some nice crispiness and the onions were a great add-in. I might need to see if our usual breakfast place can do that for me next time.

We made a quick stop at Goodwill to drop off three garbage bags full of clothes. I finally got rid of some clothes – hurray! I have to admit though, it was really hard to do it. I haven’t worn any of that in 5+ years but when I look at it I remember when I got it and/or some occasion where I wore it. Does anyone else have trouble getting rid of clothes? Still, I know I’ll never really miss them. They were just sitting in the back of my closet for years right?

At this point I proclaimed I could make caramel apple cookies all by myself. A quick trip to the grocery store for ingredients and then a trip to Walmart for a larger grater… look what we saw:

You can’t tell but the sign was blinking 89 days til Christmas. Seriously? Already? Let’s just enjoy the Fall for now OK?

Back to my apartment for some mixing time!

The result?

Fluffy cake-like caramel apple cookies! Viola! I should write the recipe down and share it with you all. These were soft, moist, and *almost* healthy. 🙂

Speaking of healthy, we tried our first foray into veggie burgers tonight!

Soy-free, gluten-free, AND vegan? All the ingredients were pronounceable and even better, the list was blissfully short. Most veggie burgers have soy and TONS contain MSG. I was shocked. These were the only ones on the shelf that passed my ingredient test.

But I’ll admit to being a bit scared to try them…

Cooked up with some boiled red potatoes and broccoli

End result? Ben gave it 2 out of 5 stars. I agree. It smelled okay but it was pretty dry. I think if it had some sauce on top it would have been better. But the ingredients were short and I think I could try and re-create this myself!

Tomorrow is more Football time. We’ll see if the Packers can improve to 3-0!

One Response

  1. Ooooo -those cookies look so good!

    I find it harder to buy new clothes than to get rid of old ones. I usually shop consignment and I haven’t in probably a year! Time to shop again 😀

Leave a Reply

