• Shop Amazon

Sliding Peaches

Whew – it’s already after 10. What is this girl going to do on school nights to get a blog post in?

Yay, week one is officially over having completed the first day of each of my two classes. I survived. One down, 11 weeks to go 😉 Is it wrong that I’m counting already? And I still have 10 more classes after this?

I was in the grocery store this weekend and fell victim to the display of “fresh” peaches and bought a few. Ugh, they always disappoint and are never as good as the ones we get during the truckload sales. So unfair!

What is a girl left to do with peaches that aren’t sweet enough to eat on their own and have a weird texture? Make something!

My original thought was to saute them because that was so good last time, but then I thought about making something artistic. What about slicing the peaches and then layering them with a layer of some kind of whipped cream concoction in the middle? Game? Let’s go!

Started out with 2 seemingly perfect peaches

Peeled and sliced so they could be neatly stacked

I grilled both sides in coconut oil until they were golden brown

meanwhile… I started the filling

Almond milk, Stevia, vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg, and some cornstarch to help thicken. Wisk over medium heat to remove lumps and once thickened, put in the fridge to cool.

Then I added a bit of whipped cream to add “body” to my filling

Stir gently, you don’t want to collapse all the cream!

Now… with my lovely whipped filling and my sauteed peaches, it was time to stack and make a culinarily (that’s a word) beautiful presentation…

Slip!

Yeah, so in my haste I did think that adding whipped cream to hot filling would be an issue but then forgot about cold filling with warm peaches. FAIL!

So, you just go with the flow and stack a little more horizontally than originally planned

Hmm way more filling than needed since it melted all over the place. Don’t the peaches look like pancakes?

End result though?

Still delicious! Warm peaches, rich filling that wasn’t too sweet. Yum

I love peaches

(and football 😉 )

3 Responses

  1. The melted cream actually looks great over the peaches. My mouth is watering! YUM!

  2. Holy yum! That looks good! I love, love fruit sauteed in coconut oil. Or butter 😀

  3. Hi Ali, I’m drooling just a bit on my keyboard. I LOVE warm peaches!!! Actually, most warm fruit. I need to find an orchard NOW! 🙂 Have a great Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

