• Shop Amazon

Glittery Jewelry

I. Am. In. Love.

I think it is important to get that out in the open right away. At approximately 2:56pm today I had a $33,000 ring on my finger. What made this experience even more amazing? It was this ring:

https://i2.wp.com/ts4.mm.bing.net/images/thumbnail.aspx

That’s right, I was sporting a genuine Green Bay Packer Super Bowl ring! That sucker was HEAVY. I mean crazy heavy. I have no idea how you could wear it on a finger and do any kind of typing. (I know, because I tried – after all if I don’t report these things to my blog world, who will?). The inside had the Packer motto along with the playoff games, scores, and the symbol of the team they played. Super, super, super cool. –sigh– I want one!! 🙂

After I came back down to earth and stopped over to do my civic duty and VOTE (yay for all the recall mail stopping now!) I wanted to try something different for dinner.

I spied a brand-new bag of this:

Mmm I like barley but I’ve never made it before. Figured it was time. That is, until I realized it takes 1 1/4 hours for barley to cook. Whoops! Barley, you will have to wait my friend.

So with no barley to try, I felt I needed to be adventurous with another new item. Enter Quinoa.

Quinoa is huge on the blog world and a staple for vegetarians because it is a seed that actually is a complete protein. Neat eh?

Now I’ve never made quinoa before in ANYTHING. I have zero recipes and zero inspiration. I just figured I’d throw stuff together and see how it all turned out. You game? I thought so!

Quinoa Bacon Veggie Toss

(don’t you love making up silly recipe names? ha ha)

I started with some nitrate-free turkey bacon

Cook it up on the stove until it’s nice and crispy. I don’t like it limp! (ha – TWSS)

Everything is better with bacon

In a separate pan I threw in 2 ears of corn (locally-grown, score!), 1/2 a bag of snap peas, broccoli, and some coconut oil

Cooked over low heat stirring every so often

Once your bacon is cooked, I added 1 cup of veggie broth to de-glaze the pan (turkey bacon is low in fat and so there aren’t a lot of drippings)

Rinse 1/2 cup of quinoa to remove the bitterness. If you don’t have a small enough colander or strainer, just filter over a coffee filter. That’s how we roll here

Once rinsed, add to your broth, bring to a boil, and simmer 10-15 minutes until all the liquid is absorbed.

A nibble on the bacon told me I don’t like turkey bacon the way I like regular bacon. Go figure. To break up the bacon-taste and spread it more evenly throughout, I gave the bacon a few quick pulses in the Ninja

Perfect!

Toss in the al dente veggies and bacon with the quinoa

Serve with some optional cheese and a large glass of almond milk!

This turned out a LOT better than I thought it would I was pleasantly surprised. The smaller bacon bits were perfect and evenly distributed in each bite without being overpowering yet provided some extra flavor.

I was pretty proud of myself for trying something new, making it so colorful, AND getting in some much-needed veggies!

What’s the coolest new food you’ve tried lately?

5 Responses

  1. Hi Ali, LOVE quinoa, what a great recipe!!! OMG….how on earth did you end up with that ring on your finger??? So fun!!! Looks as big as a belt buckle!

  2. That’s too funny. I was at the health food store last week, picked up the pearl barley and saw the hour and half cooking time. It went back on the shelf so quick, as if on fire.
    Quinoa is a super grain/seed. It’s loaded with protein and other good nutrients. It’s not my favorite but nutrition wise, it’s right up there.
    My favorite new find: Farro wheat.

  3. This looks divine! Thanks for the recipe! I can’t wait to try it!

  4. I would’ve eaten both too…they both look amazing!

Leave a Reply

