• Shop Amazon

Potted Green Thumb? (not so much)

Hurray for FRIDAY!! Do you have wonderful and amazing plans for the weekend? I hope so!

 

A little background… about two months ago Ben surprised me we this:

Gorgeous aren’t they?

 

Although slowly but surely I noticed the plant wasn’t doing so well. I kept it indoors during the heatwave to try and help but today it looks like this:

NOOOO!!!

I’m not a girl that gets flowers all the time and if I manage to kill these… It wouldn’t be good. Now I should mention I do fairly well when things are planted outside and not in a pot but when things are potted? forget it!

I give you Exhibit A:

I bought this Christmas cactus a couple of years ago and followed all the cactus instructions I could find. I even re-potted this guy! But alas, as it got bigger, huge chunks would just fall off until only this was left. What’s funny is that I basically gave up on this plant thinking it was going to die and haven’t watered it in a couple MONTHS. How come this guy isn’t dead yet?? Ha Ha

Anyone with a green thumb out there??

I mentioned we put the boyfriend’s house up on the market. One of the projects we’ve been working on is fixing some broken tile in the kitchen back entry. We finally got the small pieces cut and put into place!

Hopefully should have a good “after” picture later this weekend! I’m excited to see the end result. Thankfully Ben had a co-worker with tile experience! We know nothing.

After tile cutting and gluing we went out to Margarita’s for dinner. Mmm I love Mexican food!

Ben’s grande strawberry margarita. He always gets strawberry!

My more modest regular-sized wild berry margarita. Yum. I like switching up the flavors!

Chicken enchiladas! With plenty of leftovers for lunch today!

This morning I whipped up a banana smoothie for breakfast.

Sorry for the blur. Wasn’t the best – it needed “something”

Raspberries to the rescue!!

Drooling is allowed πŸ™‚

End result – much better!

Looks like Ben’s making me gluten-free chicken alfredo for dinner tonight. Would you believe I’ve never had chicken alfredo before??Apparently Ben can’t believe this either. Will let you know how this culinary masterpiece works out.

Rest day from 5K training. Tomorrow is 1.5 miles of the run/walk. Should be a nice day for it.

Off to enjoy the sunshine!

4 Responses

  1. I would fertilize the hanging plant and shear it off by about half. Then it should come back again.

  2. Thanks Lori! I’ll get some fertilizer tomorrow at the store. I’m always worried if I cut it all back all the buds will disappear! πŸ™‚

  3. I love your blog name! It makes me think you’re from GA. Are you?? I am too and we have a meetup next weekend in the Atlanta area if you’re interested in going. And if you’re from somewhere far away – sorry about the GA assumption! LOL

    Anyways – I have a terrible green thumb. Luckily my SIL lives in my neighborhood and has a full garden I can steal from.

    • Nope – I’m actually from WI but I just LOVE GA peaches. You are very lucky and I am jealous of you!!! πŸ™‚

      How lucky to have a SIL so close like that! One day I want to get my own house and have a big garden. I figure if I plant enough stuff SOMETHING will live right? Law of averages and all that! πŸ™‚

      Thanks for the blog meet-up invite. If I had been there I would have gone. Have a super day Tina!!

Leave a Reply

