• September Goals:

    Stay Sane Before Wedding

    To Date: depends on day/time


    Get Your Butt to the Gym

    To Date: Gym, What Gym?

  • Shop Amazon

The Ache in My Abs

My puny abs are cryyyyyyyyyying out for mercy! Ben and I barely made it through the first 45 second day last night. Sunday was our first rest day and then last night we were back for the next round. I can’t begin to tell you how wonderful it is to do it with Ben though. He distracts me and counts down the time as I gasp and wheeze and shake and moan. I do have that lovely achy ab muscle feeling though. That’s a pain that I’ve always welcomed because even though my gym classes have an ab component, it doesn’t seem like it does enough. No (light) pain, no gain? Tonight we tackle another 45 second round and then tomorrow we bump it up to a full minute. OMG!! :-)

One of my friends has been married twice and graciously offered up her first wedding dress to use as a back up in case I can’t squeeze into mine in time. I tried it on and the length might be a touch short but we’re talking maybe an inch… and if it’s an outside ceremony, it’s probably better that it’s not skimming the ground. It has a lovely train and a double bustle so the only thing that would need to be altered would across the chest. The sad thing is her dress is TWO sizes bigger than the one I bought – and fit perfectly around the waist. So I’m not feeling very confident. After I weaned off my diet in November, I have since gained about 10 pounds back – and I swear it went right to my gut. Ugh. Oh well, at least I have a backup plan, right?

Ben’s nursing a bit of a sore throat and headache so I’ve been keeping a close eye on him and hoping it will blow over. Luckily his bugs never seem to linger the way mine do. We had decided to grill steaks last night and since I didn’t want Ben out in the cold, I took to the grill myself. Scary!

Ben did handle marinading the meat – with all sorts of unidentifiable seasonings

006

I made a 50% potato, 50% cauliflower mashed potato to go along with the meat. When I was on the diet we made mashed potatoes with just cauliflower and while it was a welcome change, we missed the taters. This way the taste of the potato comes through and it gets a couple servings of veggies in as well.

011

I was really pleased with how they came out. I’ll definitely be doing it again!

Tonight the plan is to rock through more homework and be ready to hand in some assignments tomorrow. I also need to make a final decision as to whether or not I want to go to commencement. The campus where the graduation is held is 90 min away. It costs $60 for the cap and gown. I don’t know. Since I don’t have any classmates I’ve known the past few years that are graduating (there’s only one other student graduating this Spring in either of my classes), I’m just undecided. Either way, I need to decide by Friday so I can get my camp/gown order in.

Okay, time to scoot off to work. Have a great day!

5 Responses

  1. I hate it when my abs are sore. You can’t do anything without feeling it.
    Wow – graduation around the corner. You must be so excited.

    • Ha – my abs never get THAT sore!! I just like the afterburn the next day that lets me know I did enough to break down a bit of muscle and rebuild.

      Yes – super-dee-duper excited about graduation!!

  2. Gah…once again, planks are my enemy! You can totally rock either wedding dress if you keep killing the workouts and focus on food in verses calories burned! Tracking on my fitness pal has totally helped me this year! Keep up the good work :)

  3. The plank truly is an amazing exercise, isn’t it? That schedule they have you do, though, for that challenge is tough! I can do three 1 minute planks with a rest minute in between now. It took me a month to build up to that. Isn’t it funny how time seems to reeaalllly slow down when you are holding one?

    For your dress, you could always invest in some Spanx. I’m too cheap to buy them, but I think they make you a size smaller? I could be wrong on that.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 96 other followers

